Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
These definately taste better the next day! I used instant brown rice, but the regular brown rice would probably work best. I didn't have any flax, so I used whole wheat flour instead. I made individual portions by baking it in muffin cups and cutting the baking time. Perfect texture...not too dry or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Great taste. Only change I made was to add a tbls of Worcestershire sauce. It was a little too moist, so next time I may just add less tomatoe suace or cook a little longer. Really tasty though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I've never made a lentil meatloaf before. I really liked it. I did make some small changes--wheat bran for germ, and topped with a ketchup/tom.paste mix. I have to say that I liked it better after it sat in the fridge overnight. At first it was still a bit too soft in the middle, more like a paste than a meatloaf. Also, as others have commented on, the thyme was a bit odd at first. Again, that mellowed after sitting overnight. It makes quite a bit, and the leftovers are really good. Both my husband and babysitter are true midwesterners, and had never even conceptualized something like this, but they both liked it a lot. My husband thought it would make really good patties or meatballs, and I agree with him. Baby thought it was ok, big brother didn't try it. Real meatloafs never make enough for us to have on hand throughout the week, so I esp liked that aspect. I didn't have any issues with the fiber--it was fine. Thanks Alissa! Great recipe and way to get some lentils into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was my first ever attempt at making a homemade veggie "meat" meal. I've only been eating a vegetarian diet for about 2 weeks now, and as long as I can eat stuff like this I think I will be just fine. This recipe is excellent and very tasty, even for someone who is used to eating meat. It even has a meat like texture once cooked! I followed the recipe, but pureed the onion (I don't like onion chunks)and also added in some Portugese seasoning in addition to the other seasinings required. I followed the recomendations by others and baked the loaf covered in foil for 45 mins, and then uncovered it and poured a mixture of ketchup and tomato sauce sprinkled with parsley on top and then baked for another 30 mins. It tastes great and the recipe made a lot way to much to fit into a standard size UK loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxybc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
It was pretty good, but I think needs some more seasonings. Also, remember as at least one other reviewer said, this really has a lot of fiber. Be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This lentil meatloaf just was not good. Very bland. Also, the texture just was gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
i made this along with a meatloaf for my husband and i was not too impressed with the lentil loaf. it was dry...kinda bland and needed something added to it. Maybe next time i will add the orange preserves mixture i put on his meatloaf. In the end i had a huge amount of the loaf left and tried making sandwiches with it...i melted some cheese overtop trying to not have to throw it out. but in the end half the loaf went in the garbage. :( And iam a lentil lover so i am not too sure what went wrong....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
i thought that this dish was very creative and tasty. Im not even a vegetarian, i just wanted to try a healthy alternative to meat, and im definitely keeping this recipe in my book! i do have one "complaint", im no chef by any means, however i thought it was a bit dry and im unsure what to do next time i make it so that its not dry....any suggestions someone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I give this recipe a three because it is only edible once it is drizzled with a bit of steak sauce or ketchup. Definitely looks like meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
OUTSTANDING!! we loved this so much, it's destined to be one of our staple meals. I got all wacky with Indian spices. I commandeered the leftovers for lunch the next day. Looove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States