Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This did not turn out at all like a meatloaf for me. I did not expect it to be exactly like meatloaf, but my family hated it. It was time consuming to make. I cooked it longer than stated and it never "solidified" enough to cut into slices. It was more like a pureed texture and reminded me of meat for babies. I will not be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I hate to do this but we really disliked this lentil loaf. We are a family of six vegetarians and usually the kids are hit or miss but my husband and I are pretty flexible but not one single person liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
To make this recipe vegan I used Ener-G egg replacer instead of egg whites. It worked well except it took 1 &1/2 hour to bake. Welll worth it! Not only was it delicious last night fresh from the oven but I also ate it as a cold sandwich for lunch today. Loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was great! I added salsa to the top before baking which worked out really well. Baked for an hour to set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is the first time I've made a veggie loaf-it's ok. It is somewhat bland though. I made a peanut gravy to go over it which helped some. I think it just needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very tasty! I am not a veg., but i don't eat meat that often because there are so many more healthy alternatives that taste delicious...like this recipe! Definitely cover with foil while cooking, I also cooked mine about 1.5 hours but I think I released too much water in the veggies when i was supposed to finely chop them, mine were more pureed. I also went with the suggestion to use indian spices instead of thyme and i loved it! I used curry, cumin, and indian pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. My family and I are very very new vegetarians and my husband is pretty meat and potatoes. He loves this recipe as well. In fact, I used the same idea to make meatballs for spaghetti and those turned out fantastic as well. I was super surprised by how yummy and "meat-like" the texture was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made some alterations. For the person that asked about dryness, you can add 1 tin of light coconut milk. Roland is the brand that I buy in the supermarket. I sprouted the lentils for2 days in advance. I put them in a glass bowl, cover them with water and I left them in a cupboard, a warm place and they sprouted. They become more protein than and they digest better. I crushed them into puree raw, with out cooking. I did not want to lose the nutrients. I also added mushrooms, celery, and broth. I did not use the flaxseeds. I followed a suggestion and I used barley flour and wheat bran instead. I also added 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese, and 1/2 cup of dried sun tomatoes, and the egg whites. I also added 1/4 of chopped jalapenos pepper, sea salt and ground black pepper. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Oh my gosh - this was amazing! I was a bit nervous when I went to the commissary & bought all these ingredients that I've never used (wheat germ & flax seed) just hoping it wasn't a disaster. It turned out GREAT! The preparation seemed to take forever - but I knew that going in. The only thing I changed was adding ketchup to the top before baking it. Mine was still really mushy after the 45 minutes, another 10 minutes later it was ok..but I would have left it in a few more minutes if I had the time. Overall, it was great & we will definitely make this again. My meat eating husband even said he'd eat it again. thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I modified the recipe because I didn't have some of the veggies on hand and substituted mushrooms. Next time I make this I will season the ingredients as I go, as mine turned out on the bland side. The katchup/tomato on top was great. "The chef's Miracle Blend" would be great in this, or maybe soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States