Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
It was so bland it was only barely edible with a gallon of ketchup. I think this could possibly be salvageable if there were a boatload of seasonings. I like the mushroom nut loaf vegetarian option far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usnwife20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Not a bad recipe! I made a few adjustment: used the whole egg, rather than the yolk, added more spices [oregano, basil, rosemary, garlic powder], replaced the wheat germ with ground flax and brown rice with white, and left out the pepper (due to what was in my kitchen), and it turned out good. I like the texture - something I miss as a vegetarian sometimes! It was hearty and had room for flexibility. And it tasted really good with this amazing BBQ sauce I have. Definitely recommend trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe but I agree with others that it needs a sauce of some kind. I made a simple sauce of tomato, basil, red onion and garlic. Everyone enjoyed it. it held together OK but I agree with those who said that it needed an extra 20 minutes uncovered after the suggeted 45 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
We liked the taste of the meatloaf, but it was alittle dry. Maybe because I did have to cook it alot longer than the 45 minutes for it to solidify? I will make this again and maybe add some kind of sauce over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was easy and turned out very nicely exactly as written. I took one reviewers advice and made muffins which went over well with the kids. The thyme was the predominant flavor, which we liked, But I'll probably try a different spice angle next time. It made enough for appx 18 muffins, which I cooked as suggested, with foil on top for the first 35 minutes then removed fir the last 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I am not a vegetarian but want to try and eat healthy. This loaf recipe was prepared exactly as written with the exception of the substitution of green peppers for red (this is what I had on hand). It was very delicious but the next time I may put a catchup, brown sugar, mustard topping on it. Thank you for this recipe. It will get into my regular meal rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Loved it will make it again. Made a deviled sauce to pour over top 3 tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp dried mustard. It was amazing. Freezes well. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Needs more onion and definately ketchup on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
In the oven right now! Before even trying it, I have to say that I ended up with enough mixture for at least 2 loaves, maybe more. I'll add to this after I've tasted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I had high hopes for this but honestly neither my husband nor I liked it. I didn't like the texture and it tasted very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States