Alison's Slow Cooker Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Okay - I know it means an extra step but I first did a quick-fry w/ the beef in a LITTLE olive oil and some all-season salt. Then, I used 2 cans of low sodium beef broth instead of the water/bullion cubes. I also ommitted the salt and used half the basil. Finally, I added the frozen veggies during the last hour and a half of cooking (I didn't want them to get mushy by cooking all day) AND a small handful of macaroni noodles. Thick but very good! Served with dinner rolls and it was a nice "autumn" dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Loved this! Be sure to use a 5-quart slow cooker and sub in 6 cups of water with 6 cubes of bouillon but skip the salt and this will be the best vegetable soup you ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This soup was delicious. I used 3 cups of water instead of two and also omitted the salt. I used crushed tomatoes w/ basil instead of the tablespoon of basil and it was wonderful. Thanks for submitting. I will be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is a very hearty soup. Great things come to those who wait. I followed the recipe as written, however I will omit the salt and cut back on the bullion the next time I prepare it. It was a bit salty for my taste, but the meat was so tender it just melt in my mouth. What a great meal to come home to and warm up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTYWANNABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Everyone that tried this thought that it was terrible. It was extremely too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This was so easy and good. I used chicken instead of beef. I did use all the cubes but did not add any salt. I also added some canned green beans and corn. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I found it to be an excellent soup. However, I did find ait quite salty. I would omit the salt, due to all the bouillon in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I am usually a wipeout when it comes to cooking with a crockpot. I was surprised and relieved at how well this stew turned out. Based on other reviews, I reduced the recipe down to 5 bouillon cubes. This is a great stew for when it is cold outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I also omitted the salt and cut back on the boullion. But this is the real deal. Excellent taste. if you dont like this you dont like veg beef soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Delicious soup and a cinch to make with the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States