Alison's Slow Cooker Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Tons of potential, but I made some changes for my family's tastebuds. I used all 10 broth cubes but skipped the extra salt. I used 2 t. of pepper and it was way too peppery, so will cut down to 1/2 t. next time. Very easy! Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I never would have said this while she was alive, but this vegetable beef soup is better than Mom's. I doubled the recipe and put 18 bowls of this in the freezer for the winter, when it will come out one bowl at a time and warm me and delight my taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade1956

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burns, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Easy breezy! Great flavor and taste. This was gone in a flash. Everyone had seconds and thirds. I will double the recipe the next time so we can have some leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yummy :) I made a few changes, instead of the bouillon cubes I used a packet of lipton onion soup mix with a box of beef stock. It is delish. I did brown my beef cubes first too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was outstanding: tasty & easy. I followed some of the other suggestions: half the bullion, increased water to 3 cups. Maybe it was the extra water, but 8 hrs was not long enough. The other adjustment: I reduced the pepper slightly. Both my wife & I loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
was really good except I omitted the salt and added 6 cups of water with the bouillion cubes I would think another TABLESPOON of salt would be way too salty for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Love this. Make it several times a year. Have made it as written, have substituted fresh for frozen veggies, substituted beef broth for the bouillon and I use a large onion. Have also used barley in place of potatoes. Hubby likes things a bit zippier so have added a few drops of hot sauce and a little Worchestershire sauce. Just a good basic soup recipe. It definitely needs more liquid than the 2 cups called for. We enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Much too salty as originally written. Try low-sodium beef broth, beef stock, or beef stock powder. Also, browning the beef cubes first makes a tremendous difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxplayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Not for those folks who are watching their sodium intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loma, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
very good but too salty, too much beef boulion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maricela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States