Alison's Slow Cooker Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was very good and super easy. My hubby's a meat eater and I'm always looking for the quick and dirty recipe that will satisfy him...and hopefully I don't have to handle the meat much...bleeck.....liked this alot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Flavorful. Hubby loved this as well as my grandsons, 4 and 8yrs old. Quick to fix in the morning before work, ready when hubby gets home. I love easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This really was very good, and after reading reviews, here is what I did : I used big chunks of carrot and potato, so they wouldn't get mushy...used a whole bag of frozen grn beans instead of mixed veges...only used 5 bullion cubes and omitted the salt..used a little more than 2 cups water...i was out of crushed tomatoes, so I ran two cans of stewed tomatoes thru the blender..also browned the meat in olive oil with a little garlic powder....the only reason I didn't give more stars was that I feel 2tsp of pepper is WAY too much! I used 1 1/2 and it was still to peppery! Almost ruined the dish! Good basic recipe and obviously lends to a lot of creativity according to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
After a couple of changes, this is our new family favorite! Subbed beef broth (about 2-2 1/2 cups) for the water/bouillon combo and used 15 oz. can tomato sauce/14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. can crushed simply because that's what I had on hand. Cooked for 8 hours on low, then the Crock-Pot switched to 2 hours on warm until we were ready to eat. Absolutely delish! I will make this again and again, I'm sure. One thing to note; if you don't like basil, cut to 1/2 tablespoon. The basil/pepper seasoning was very noticeable and gave it quite a bit of a kick, but still not too strong for my kids to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
After reading the reviews I decided to use 5 bouillon cubes and left the salt out. After four hours of cooking I sampled and it lacked taste. I added the additional 5 bouillon cubes uncrushed. I’m so glad I did. This turned out great it wasn’t over salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
EXCELLENT!! But you canNOT include all that salt. I'm convinced it's a type-o. Bouillon is normally one cup of water to one bouillon cube. I added 3 cups of water and 3 bouillon cubes and a PINCH of salt (not a Tbsp!!). It was soooo good on this cold fall night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I like this recipe BUT the amount of black pepper in the recipe makes the soup not edible. Especially for kids. I will try this again but with 1/4 to 1/3 of the pepper and check seasoning at the end of cooking. When I remake this the rating could change. I gave the beef pieces a quick browning before adding to the pot which enhanced flavor and tenderness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this exactly as stated and found it to be excellent. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was delicious! Even my husband who is not a big soup fan literally licked his bowl clean. I gave it 4 stars though because like previous reviewers,I halved the bouillion. I also used extra potatoes and fresh carrots for the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is surprisingly good! I made this exactly as directed with the only exception being I cut the salt back to 1 tsp. It was impressive. The flavor was great with just enough spicy bite to it to impress my husband. This is a keeper. Next time I may increase the stew meat a bit to keep my picky husbands interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States