Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Really good, no comparison to what's sold in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Healthy with more protein and fiber than other recipes, delicious, and the texture is reasonably moist and soft compared to many other gluten-free breads we have tried baking. I also like that it was pretty easy to dump into the bread machine. I used blue agave nectar in place of honey because it's easier to work with. I used 1/4 cup, and it was perfect. Dumped all wet ingredients in the bread machine, followed by the dry ingredients combined separately before adding to the machine. Easy and it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennBechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am new to a gluten-free diet. I tried this bread but found it too rubbery with a faint unpleasant aftertaste. Other people who do gluten-free baking have told me that the aftertaste is to be expected. But I wondered about the tablespoon of xanthan gum - if it was supposed to be a teaspoon? No other reviewers remarked on it, so I guess it is just my personal taste that it seemed too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We have been making this weekly for a while now. We let it cool in the bread machine for 10 minutes. After pulling it out and letting it cool completely, we slice it for sandwiches. I make two batches of the flour blend at a time and put on in the freezer for a quicker assembly. Thanks Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars, even though I didn't follow it exactly. I figure I followed it closely enough to warrant the rating. I did not make this as a totally gluten-free bread, because I'm just gluten-sensitive and can handle small amounts of gluten, so I made it as a low-gluten recipe. I substituted the millet and bean flour (can't find either of those in my area) with a half cup of wheat flour. I used brown and white rice flour for the rest of it. Also, I used buttermilk in place of skim milk. That was probably a mistake, only because it left a slightly sour taste to it. The texture is wonderful for a rice flour bread, and it rose beautifully. I did not use the bread machine, but my mixer. I mixed the wet ingredients together (proofing the yeast in the milk and honey), and then added the flours, and kneaded together (I did have to use slightly more rice flour while kneading). Then placed it into a greased loaf pan and stuck into a warmed oven. It rose about an hour, baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Seems like this is a flexible recipe that can yield good results with a variety of flours. I haven't had wheat in months and feel great, but I have missed bread. This will do nicely. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good but dense bread. Made great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I use this recipe all the time.I recently added gluten substitute(from Orgran)to it and it gets wonderful results.I add 1/2 to 3/4 cup to the bread mix. I also mix it in my kitchen-aid mixer for 1 to 2 minutes,put in loaf pan,let rise till it reaches the top of pan,put in oven at 350* for 55 minutes(cover with foil after 30 minutes is up,so it don't get too dark). It continues to rise when you put in oven. Overall a great gluten free bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this for my son after trying numerous premixes and following some other recipes in gf cookbooks. My son said this is the best bread I have EVER made (that includes the homemade breads/buns that I bake weekly). I do not have a bread maker, so followed another's suggestion. Proofed the yeast with milk and honey; then added the remaining wet ingredients. Mixed all the dry ingredients adding the salt to dry mixture. Added dry to wet ingredients in my kitchenaid. Placed in a greased/parchment lined bread pan to rise on stove for 40 minutes. Baked 40 minutes at 350. Cool completely; store in paperbag tucked in a ziploc. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
When mixing this bread recipe, I noticed the moisture content was very high. I had to add lots of extra flour. When I cut the recipe to 1/2 cup milk (NOT 1 1/2 cups milk), it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
WOW! This recipe was unbelievable. I can't believe I just ate a 1/2 loaf of this bread. It has so much flavor and is perfectly fluffy. By far one of my favorite bread recipes... no need for a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States