Alison's Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I have tried alot of gluten free breads and been very disappointed. This is the first one that actually tastes good without being toasted. I tried it for grilled cheese sandwich and it was great. I will definitley keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Every weekend I try a new gluten-free bread recipe in my bread machine. This was actually #8, and the first one with an actual taste to it, must be the bean flour. I followed this recipe line for line, no variations. It even tasted good right out of the bread machine warm with butter on it. This is the one for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Silkwood
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This wheat-free bread is delicious. The recipe works well in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Silkwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Finally a bread my wheat allergic daughter can eat, and that does not resemble cardboard! I've made it several times now and I'm contemplating making a double batch in the breadmaker, only because it's such a dense loaf, I'm baking every other day it seems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I'm going to make it again soon and see if I actually remember to put all the ingredients in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have been trying to find a good gluten free bread for my husband and this is by far the best. Both for texture (it actually rose and had air pockets) and for taste, it is similar to wheat bread. One technical note, if you try to make it with a bread machine like I did, make sure to check your machine because mine had trouble mixing the dough; it was so dense. I had to keep scraping the edges and helping it along. As for the recipe, I didn't have millet flour so I just added some sweet sorghum flour and more rice flour (only had brown). I also added threw in some flax seed after reading other reviewer. I used rice milk as a substitute for the skim milk. I followed the advice to mix the rice flour with the milk before adding it to the mixture and I think that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I was able to make this without a bread machine by mixing wet and dry ingredients separately, then folding the dry into the wet, and baking at 350 until browned. This is a good basic recipe that I look forward to playing with more. One easy addition was swirling raisins, cinnamon and a bit of brown sugar into it. I'll probably try a garlic and olive addition next if it's Celiac approved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This bread is so great!! I really can't believe how good it tastes. My whole family is eating it (I make it for my wheat sensitive son) I have tried many gluten free breads and this is by far the best. I have made it several times in my breadman pro. I didn't need to stop it and scrape, I just let it go and it comes out perfect, no need to add anything extra. I did also substitute rice milk for the skim milk and one time I cut the garbanzo bean flour in half and substitued oat flour and that was the best it came (not sure of oat flour for celiacs) There are a lot of ingredients but it's still worth it, it's what makes it taste so good. We will be making this weekly. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is my first GF breadmaker recipe and it turned out soooo good. I can't wait to eat it with minestrone soup tonight! I did make some changes to the recipe. Since I could not find GF millet flour, I doubled the tapioca flour. I also added about 1 tbsp of flaxseed meal for some BAM! I did not have to alter it anymore than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is the 1st gluten free recipe that has worked. I have a Cuisinart Convection Bread Machine; it is hard finding gluten free recipes that don't take alot of different flours. This recipe I adjusted the flour as follows: I only had Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour and brown rice flour. I used 1 3/4 C. GF All Purpose Baking Flour and 1 1/2 C. brown rice flour. The bread came out beautifully. My husband and I aren't GF intolerant, only my daughter, and we really enjoyed the bread too. Thank you, Rene49
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States