Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by KonaRose
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Ok, I changed it so much, it may not be the same recipe anymore! Took out the vinegar, changed the honey to Karo syrup, delete the millet flour and double the garbanzo bean flour. Tricks: proof the yeast in some of the warm milk and a tsp of sugar - set aside and add about 20 minutes after the flours have been moistened with the warm milk. The best trick: do NOT use a bread machine; otherwise, I always ended up with a white, solid brick, then my husband said he could sell at Home Depot in the building materials dept. I used a potato masher. Spray 2 loaf pans, sprinkle with corn meal before pouring half the dough into each pan. Smooth over the tops with a wet spoon, then paint on an egg wash, then brush them with a little Karo syrup. Wow - light, spongey, tender bread with a crispy brown crust. I did add a photo to the recipe page, the browned loaves with butter spread over the slice I am holding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent bread ! I don't have a bread machine so I mix the bread with my kitchen aid bread hook, and then I put the dough in loaf pans and let it rise for an hour. Then I let it bake in the oven for about an hour at 350. my whole family love this recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was the first time I tried making gluten-free bread. I didn't have all the different types of flour so I used 1 cup of GF all-purpose and 2 cups of rice flour. I checked after the first few minutes and had to add a little more flour. Other than that it came out perfect. My husband likes it and he's the one who has celiac disease. Thanks for an easy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I use this as the ol' standby gluten free bread recipe. It is best hot, but perks up after being toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikajune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very yummy. My husband has celiac disease, and we used to buy gluten-free bread from Whole Foods or Trader Joes for over $6.00 a loaf that tasted like cardboard and had slices that were extremely tiny. My husband felt depressed about the disease, so I bought a bread maker and started experimenting with some bread recipes. This is the first loaf of bread I made, and it is soooooooooo delicious. My husband uses this for his sandwiches and is soooooo happy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High_Dimension

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I give this 2 starts b/c the proportion of ingredients isn't right in the recipe. It would be soupy if you followed the directions. Either half the milk content, or add 3-4 MORE cups of flour than the recipe calls for. The end product was very delicious, a dense bread great with butter--but only b/c we added about 4 additional cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a pretty dense bread but the flavour is amazing. It tastes just like wheat bread. I didn't have any millet flour or garbanzo bean flour so I used green pea flour which gave the bread a greenish colour. I also added 1/4 cup of flax seed for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was my first gluten-free bread baking experience. It turned out just fine. After making a couple more recipes from this site, the flavor of this bread is more complex than the others - a good thing. Maybe because of the bean flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Wow!! Awesome!! I have been making gluten-free bread for my daughter for almost 15 years (she's 17) and this is the BEST recipe I've ever tried - and I've tried many. The flavour is amazing, and the texture is incredibly soft and moist - not crumbly like so many GF breads. I think I, myself, prefer this over regular bread! Didn't have xanthan gum on hand so I substituted guar gum, and didn't have millet flour so I substituted other GF flours I had on hand. Also, I added about 1/4 cup of ground flax - I add ground flax to every GF baking to add extra fibre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
My husband and I were spending about $6.00 per loaf for gluten free bread at our local health food store. We just made our first loaf of this bread and after one bite my husband has declared we will never have to buy bread again. Thanks for a great tasting bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States