Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. Have a cuisinart convection breadmaker and used the gluten free setting. It came out perfect! Great taste and wonderbread light- This is the first bread I've made that wasn't a pre-packaged mix-- which always turned out heavy and chalky. Will never go the mix route again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is a yummy bread!! The first loaf lasted less than a day in our house. I have not used a bread machine and have made it several times by the mixing dry ingredients, then the wet (poofing yeast separately) and combining the two. I also let the dough rise before baking. I have also made it with a variety of gluten free flours equal to 3 cups, none specific to the recipe. With my oven and cookware (blue silicone) I bake at 325 for 1hr. I would love it to take less time, but it's worth the wait! I look forward to trying it in the bread maker when I get the part I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe is great! Store brand mixes are expensive. Many homemade mixes I have tried have been too dense or dry. This is just right and the recipe tastes as close to a regular loaf of homemade bread as I have eaten. My family will eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Wow! Very good! I made without a bread machine. Mixed dry ingredients, then wet ingredients, then combined with each other with a fork. Proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup 100 degree milk with 1tsp sugar for 5 minutes. Then stirred this into the rest. Preheated convection oven to 450 for 30 min, then added pan of water - about 1 inch deep to bottom shelf and put loaves in center rack. Baked at 325 for 25 minutes. (I looked this trick up for bread in a convection oven - we just got one and everything cooks soooo fast and different - nice, but gotta ignore most recipe bake times.) I've never even made regular bread cause I'm afraid of yeast rising, but this turned out well. I let it sit covered on a heating vent for 25 min before baking - it rose a little, but I'm not sure how much it should rise? But turned out great! Oh - I also substituted the following: 1/2 tsp of stevia, no honey. Used 2% milk, no prob. Used 1 cup bobs red mill all purpose baking gluten free baking flour instead of tap and gar flour. Used 1 and 3/4 cup white rice flour - no brown rice flour. Also added 1/4 cup flaxseed meal. I'd say this receipe makes ONE big loaf pan of bread - came out thick, but moist. Could prob easily add bananas or more sugar to make into a cake if wanted :) Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My entire family LOVES this bread! I cannot thank you enough, this is the best gluten free bread I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I tried this several weeks ago without a bread machine and it didn't rise and was pretty watery in dough form. I tried again yesterday and added only 1c of milk and 2 packets of yeast (slightly over 1 TBSP) and it was perfect. The flavor is great. I baked at 350 in a loaf pan for 60m. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have baked this many times now and I am happy with this loaf. This works very well for toast and in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I don't own a bread machine. I do own a grain grinder which helped with the garbanzos. I used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg plus white. My oven has a bread rising setting. I let it rise for about an hour. Baked at 365 (Glass Pans) for 40 minutes. Turned out great. Tastes great. Baking for a friend who has just discovered a gluten allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Excellent Recipe - I use Bob's Red Mill all purpose gluten free baking flour because it's convenient. It also is great in the bread machine with a traditional style loaf pan. I add some ground seeds for texture. :) Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by KonaRose
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Ok, I changed it so much, it may not be the same recipe anymore! Took out the vinegar, changed the honey to Karo syrup, delete the millet flour and double the garbanzo bean flour. Tricks: proof the yeast in some of the warm milk and a tsp of sugar - set aside and add about 20 minutes after the flours have been moistened with the warm milk. The best trick: do NOT use a bread machine; otherwise, I always ended up with a white, solid brick, then my husband said he could sell at Home Depot in the building materials dept. I used a potato masher. Spray 2 loaf pans, sprinkle with corn meal before pouring half the dough into each pan. Smooth over the tops with a wet spoon, then paint on an egg wash, then brush them with a little Karo syrup. Wow - light, spongey, tender bread with a crispy brown crust. I did add a photo to the recipe page, the browned loaves with butter spread over the slice I am holding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States