Alison's Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This has been the closest match to "real" gluten bread yet! I double the brown rice flour and leave out the white rice flour, but otherwise, find this to be an excellent gluten free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe was Awesome! I brought my Gluten free Friend a sample and she loved it and wanted the recipe! It was so moist and it made great toast. I did not have millet flour so I used sorghum flour instead. The first time I made this it did not turn out, and after reading on the internet I found out the eggs and egg whites should be room temperature. (which I did not do the first time) After all the good reviews I wanted to try it again and it made a huge difference. I did it in my bread machine on GF setting with medium crust. Also, I live in a high altitude area so I was afraid of it not working because of that. I am so glad I did not give up! I found a recipe I will stick with and will not look any further! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Best gluten free bread so far. And it's starch free too. I've been looking for a starch free recipe for quite a while and finally stumbled upon this great one. The taste is great. I tweaked it a little, didn't have all the ingredients: instead of the eggs I added flaxmeal (3 tablespoons w/ 9 tablespoons of water), instead of canola oil olive oil, instead of tapioca flour quinoa flour, instead of white rice flour sorghum flour. I added 2 teaspoons of salt and I used the rapid cycle on my bread machine. Thank you Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very, very tasty. but could use some help from you pros out there. Mine turned out only 2 inches high (great for snacks.. hee, hee). I've never baked bread before and it looks like Alison assumes we know how ... she does not include baking instructions. OK, so I followed some of the review instructions; No bread machine so mixed separately, & proofed yeast, then allowed to rise in low oven (150) for 1.5 hrs. Then baked on regular oven at 325 for one hour. So what went wrong? Any comments or ideas? Appreciate your help. I want to try it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was great! I've never made bread, let alone gluten free bread. I did kind of an adaptation to the recipe because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I used one cup of Bob's Red Mill All Purpose, 1 1/2 cups of brown rice flower, and 1/2 cup of tapioca beads that I crushed up. (I read somewhere that that was the same as tapioca flower.) Since I didn't have a bread maker, I took Lori's advice as far as mixing and baking goes. I also added a tablespoon or so of brown sugar, and was generous with some cinnamon. The bread came out beautifully! It's a sweeter bread, and is delicious with a bit of butter and some jam. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be using it more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
A great recipe, tasty bread! Actually rises and has a texture similar to 'real' bread. Mine always seems to deflate a bit on top, but still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Fabulous and so easy! I like to substitute Hazelnut oil for the Canola oil and use a half cup white rice flour and a half cup Quinos flour. Mmmm tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Alison, thank you! This recipe has just created a HUGE loaf of GF sandwich slices for my husband - perfect!! He states it is essentially the same flavor of store bought, but much moister, and overall better texture quality than the miniature loaves they've been selling us for $6 a pop. Here are the minor changes I made, due to my pantry: Used 3 cups Bob's Red Mill GF Flour for all the various to begin, adding about 1/2 cup in the mixing process to proper consistency (heavy cake batter type). 2 whole eggs 1/4 cup coconut oil used whole milk instead of skim I put this in the bread machine on the dough cycle, let it rise once there. Moved it to a loaf pan after coating it in olive oil and dusting the pan with corn meal. The second rise behaved beautifully, the baking superb. Sliced it with an electric knife as though it were a regular homemade loaf of bread! :D Thank you! A keeper, I'll be using many times over! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have been looking for just the right GF loaf bread recipe and finally found this! I have made it twice now. My only changes: I add in 3 eggs not just 1 egg and egg whites, and I PAN ROAST THE CHICKPEA FLOUR until brown to take away that bit of bitter after taste that besan tends to give baked goods. Found that tidbit on a Middle Eastern recipe site a while ago. The only thing is that it is too much batter for my one pan (I bake at 350 for 1 hour) but not enough for two so I will have to tweak it a bit to get two loaves. Remember: Most GF bread 'dough' isn't dough - it is a very thick batter - this one included. Kind of like frosting in it's consistency. I have seen some postings that comment about it being 'wet'. It will be wetter than you think if you are not familiar with GF bread just yet. Hands down this is the best bread out there so far - even out of all the GF baking books I have - and it's a no contest alternative to the nasty, tasteless loaves available in stores. Thank you Alison, whomever you are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Sorry, I followed to a T and I had a solid gummy candy textured bread. Weigh ten pounds and was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States