Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was great! I've never made bread, let alone gluten free bread. I did kind of an adaptation to the recipe because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I used one cup of Bob's Red Mill All Purpose, 1 1/2 cups of brown rice flower, and 1/2 cup of tapioca beads that I crushed up. (I read somewhere that that was the same as tapioca flower.) Since I didn't have a bread maker, I took Lori's advice as far as mixing and baking goes. I also added a tablespoon or so of brown sugar, and was generous with some cinnamon. The bread came out beautifully! It's a sweeter bread, and is delicious with a bit of butter and some jam. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be using it more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
A great recipe, tasty bread! Actually rises and has a texture similar to 'real' bread. Mine always seems to deflate a bit on top, but still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Fabulous and so easy! I like to substitute Hazelnut oil for the Canola oil and use a half cup white rice flour and a half cup Quinos flour. Mmmm tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Alison, thank you! This recipe has just created a HUGE loaf of GF sandwich slices for my husband - perfect!! He states it is essentially the same flavor of store bought, but much moister, and overall better texture quality than the miniature loaves they've been selling us for $6 a pop. Here are the minor changes I made, due to my pantry: Used 3 cups Bob's Red Mill GF Flour for all the various to begin, adding about 1/2 cup in the mixing process to proper consistency (heavy cake batter type). 2 whole eggs 1/4 cup coconut oil used whole milk instead of skim I put this in the bread machine on the dough cycle, let it rise once there. Moved it to a loaf pan after coating it in olive oil and dusting the pan with corn meal. The second rise behaved beautifully, the baking superb. Sliced it with an electric knife as though it were a regular homemade loaf of bread! :D Thank you! A keeper, I'll be using many times over! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have been looking for just the right GF loaf bread recipe and finally found this! I have made it twice now. My only changes: I add in 3 eggs not just 1 egg and egg whites, and I PAN ROAST THE CHICKPEA FLOUR until brown to take away that bit of bitter after taste that besan tends to give baked goods. Found that tidbit on a Middle Eastern recipe site a while ago. The only thing is that it is too much batter for my one pan (I bake at 350 for 1 hour) but not enough for two so I will have to tweak it a bit to get two loaves. Remember: Most GF bread 'dough' isn't dough - it is a very thick batter - this one included. Kind of like frosting in it's consistency. I have seen some postings that comment about it being 'wet'. It will be wetter than you think if you are not familiar with GF bread just yet. Hands down this is the best bread out there so far - even out of all the GF baking books I have - and it's a no contest alternative to the nasty, tasteless loaves available in stores. Thank you Alison, whomever you are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Sorry, I followed to a T and I had a solid gummy candy textured bread. Weigh ten pounds and was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious! We can't get enough of this bread. Even my non-gluten-free husband prefers it over his whole grain bread (about $5 at the grocery store). I found that the "sweet" bread setting on my bread machine works the best for this. Allison, do you have any pizza dough recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought this bread was going to be beautiful. It looked high and light - but - on the bake cycle of my bread machine it completely collapsed. The other gluten free recipe says to use the sweet bread cycle, but this one didn't say what cycle was used. The taste was good but my whole middle was sunken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! I used 1/2 cup of almond flour in place of the garbanzo bean flour and millet flour since I didn't have those. I let it rise overnight and baked it in the oven. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This really is a very good gf bread recipe. I don't know if the magic is in the garbanzo bean flour or not. I didn't have millet flour and so I used 1/4 cup of flax meal and only brown rice flour rather than both white and brown rice flour. I also substituted homemade brown rice milk for the warm skim milk and olive oil for the canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States