Alison's Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I substituted the Garbanzo and Millet flour w/ additional White Rice flour. Followed everything else exactly, then turned this into a tasty Onion, Garlic, Cheese bread! I combined all original ingredients, then added about 1-1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese cubes, 1 large clove of minced garlic and 1/4 cup minced red onion (both garlic and onion sauteed in a little oil). I did not use a bread machine, but instead baked for 40-50 minutes on 350 until golden brown. Wonderful texture. Very moist! I made non-gluten-free Cheese breads for Christmas and I didn't want my gluten-free friend left out. She loved it, as did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've tried this recipe in a bread machine three times, with varying unsatisfactory results. One time it rose unevenly, and twice it didn't even rise to the top of the pan. My husband says it's the best GF bread he's had, but I want it to rise like regular bread. Any ideas on what my problem could be? Could it be that I'm using bread machine yeast - should I use regular yeast that's proofed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I gave it 4 stars only because I did not follow the recipe exactly. I didn't have any bean flour so i substituted 1:1 for soy flour.I ran out of my super fine brown rice flour so I substituted 1:1 for sorghum flour. I also used whole milk instead of what it called for. I put it in the bread machine and used the "sweet" cycle since it didnt specify what cycle to use and I do not have a specific GF bread machine. It didnt mix it all the way but a spatula and my husband took care of that! It came out with a nice color, a little crust, and tasted pretty good. Its texture was better than store bought GF breads- it was moist, and held up when eaten alone. Although it could use a little more binder because it was a little crumbly once you made it into a sandwich. However this could have been due to my lack of not following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
review #1: i made this in the oven. i used a combo of gluten free flour mix i got in bulk from a natural foods store (to replace the brown rice, millet and tapioca flours) and used chickpea and white rice flours as indicated in the recipe. i used guar gum instead of xantham gum. i mixed the dry and wet separately, then added the proofed yeast to the wet and then mixed dry and wet together. i let it rise in the loaf pan for an hour. i baked at 350F at first but saw it was getting too brown so i switched to 325. baked for about 50 minutes in a greased, glass loaf pan (it stuck though!). tasty, but the texture is kind of more like banana bread (i am new to homemade gluten free bread so maybe this is what GF bread is supposed to be like). the bread was too sweet and it browned on outside too much though, while the inside was fine. review #2: i made it again and it was not good. used 2 cups gluten free flour mix and 1 cup white rice flour. i also ran out of eggs so used 1 egg + 1/3 cup of "flax eggs" (ground flax seeds blended with water - a common vegan egg replacement) for the egg whites. i also used half the agave syrup. baked at 325F for an hour (i had to put it back in for a bit extra because although the outside was too brown, the inside was still a bit too wet). found the bread tasted far too yeasty and unpleasant. maybe the extra sweetness before had hidden that, or maybe my yeast went overboard.. but i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was great! I mixed in a paste of olive oil, chopped kalamata, the bright green olives, 8 cloves of garlic finely chopped and some sea salt and it was amazing! Great dipped in olive oil and spices. (I had substituted the white rice flour with King Arthur gluten-free all-purpose flour. Delish! Even my hub, who doesn't like olives was a big fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
So good! I mixed up an all-purpose GF flour mix a few days ago so I used that instead of what was named here. I also accidentally doubled the oil. Oops! However, this is the best GF bread I've ever made! It was the perfect consistency for sandwich bread! So pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This bread is fantastic! I cannot even tell from the taste that it is wheat free. I will be making my son this bread from now on instead of buying the horrible tasting stuff that he currently eats (although he doesn't know any difference). Seriously, I cannot believe how great this bread is. I had to use an egg replacer and rice milk instead of real eggs and milk due to his allergies and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I love this recipe i have tried it a few differnt ways to see what i like the best. I used 1 cups of a gluten free all purpose instead of the garbanzo bean, millet and brown rice. I then add 1.5 cups of white rice flour. I also add 3 whole eggs and 2 tbsp of flax seed it. Tonight i left out the flax seed and i was out of honey so i add 1/4 cup of apple sauce, it just as great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Great recipe! I used 1.5 cups white rice flour and 0.5 cups sorghum flours for the white/brown combo stated (it is what I had on hand). It was great! Made it for y bro's GF gf and she/we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
My daughter-in-law loves this recipe! We did it the regular way, not the bread machine. We used soy milk in place of the skim milk (lactose intolerant), and 2 eggs, no egg whites. She liked the many grains and says it is so much better than another recipe she was using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States