Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I use this recipe all the time.I recently added gluten substitute(from Orgran)to it and it gets wonderful results.I add 1/2 to 3/4 cup to the bread mix. I also mix it in my kitchen-aid mixer for 1 to 2 minutes,put in loaf pan,let rise till it reaches the top of pan,put in oven at 350* for 55 minutes(cover with foil after 30 minutes is up,so it don't get too dark). It continues to rise when you put in oven. Overall a great gluten free bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this for my son after trying numerous premixes and following some other recipes in gf cookbooks. My son said this is the best bread I have EVER made (that includes the homemade breads/buns that I bake weekly). I do not have a bread maker, so followed another's suggestion. Proofed the yeast with milk and honey; then added the remaining wet ingredients. Mixed all the dry ingredients adding the salt to dry mixture. Added dry to wet ingredients in my kitchenaid. Placed in a greased/parchment lined bread pan to rise on stove for 40 minutes. Baked 40 minutes at 350. Cool completely; store in paperbag tucked in a ziploc. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
When mixing this bread recipe, I noticed the moisture content was very high. I had to add lots of extra flour. When I cut the recipe to 1/2 cup milk (NOT 1 1/2 cups milk), it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
WOW! This recipe was unbelievable. I can't believe I just ate a 1/2 loaf of this bread. It has so much flavor and is perfectly fluffy. By far one of my favorite bread recipes... no need for a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl in Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It worked really well for me! Made a few substitutions (used all white rice flour, replaced millet flour with more garbanzo bean flour, used brown sugar instead of honey, used almond milk, and used two eggs instead of the egg plus egg whites). Still turned out well, and it looked really good, too! The bread is soft yet strong enough to use as a sandwich bread, and was quite tasty. Not crumbly at all. I did not use a bread machine but just mixed with a hand mixer, allowed the dough to rise for one hour in the loaf pan, and baked at 350 F for 50 minutes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is easy and actually tastes good for GF. Two important things in my kitchen! I did add flax seed to the mix. I didn't use the bread machine for the first try, let it rise in the oven at 150 degrees, then baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I would give this 5 stars if the instructions were a little more explicit about the consistency of the dough. This was my first attempt at gluten-free bread, after years of making gluten bread. I expected a soft pliable dough, what I had was something that resembled a very think pancake batter. I kept adding more flour, but could never come to that consistency. I finally gave up and put it into a bread pan, proofed it for an hour and baked at 375 until it was brown and sounded hollow. I ended up with a heavy dense bread, that was actually very tasty, and toasted well. I would like to try this recipe again, but have no idea what consistency the dough should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Fantastic GF bread! This is the best one I've made so far. I actually like it and see a lot of possibilities. I did not use the bread machine. I followed suggestions posted by other bakers: I proofed the yeast in warm milk and honey, etc.. I divided the dough into two loaf pans (oiled and corn flour), let sit covered for 30 minutes, and baked at 350 for aprox 50 minutes. I did make a few changes: -Substituted sorghum flour for millet and used a combination of olive oil and peanut oil. -Used two whole eggs and a tablespoon of ground flax. (instead of egg whites) -I also added 1/4 cup of amaranth. Next time I will add less honey and a bit more salt. I will also try it with less xanthum gum. I don't know if it really needs a tablespoon. I will post the results when I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This bread is excellent. The best bread recipe I have tried so far. I changed a couple of things. I used 3 eggs total instead of the egg whites. And I was worried there would not be enough starch to hold it together so i substituted 1/2 cup potato starch for some of the brown rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was great. I did sub some of the ingredients, but no matter, the base was great and my finished product came out great. This bread is good on it's own with a little butter, or as a sandwich. I don't have a bread maker - don't need one for GF bread, the consistency isn't the same as glutenous bread. I mixed all the dry ingredients, then the wet in another bowl, and then slowly mixed them together. Worked perfectly. Let it rise, then bake in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States