Alison's Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We have been making this weekly for a while now. We let it cool in the bread machine for 10 minutes. After pulling it out and letting it cool completely, we slice it for sandwiches. I make two batches of the flour blend at a time and put on in the freezer for a quicker assembly. Thanks Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars, even though I didn't follow it exactly. I figure I followed it closely enough to warrant the rating. I did not make this as a totally gluten-free bread, because I'm just gluten-sensitive and can handle small amounts of gluten, so I made it as a low-gluten recipe. I substituted the millet and bean flour (can't find either of those in my area) with a half cup of wheat flour. I used brown and white rice flour for the rest of it. Also, I used buttermilk in place of skim milk. That was probably a mistake, only because it left a slightly sour taste to it. The texture is wonderful for a rice flour bread, and it rose beautifully. I did not use the bread machine, but my mixer. I mixed the wet ingredients together (proofing the yeast in the milk and honey), and then added the flours, and kneaded together (I did have to use slightly more rice flour while kneading). Then placed it into a greased loaf pan and stuck into a warmed oven. It rose about an hour, baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Seems like this is a flexible recipe that can yield good results with a variety of flours. I haven't had wheat in months and feel great, but I have missed bread. This will do nicely. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good but dense bread. Made great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I use this recipe all the time.I recently added gluten substitute(from Orgran)to it and it gets wonderful results.I add 1/2 to 3/4 cup to the bread mix. I also mix it in my kitchen-aid mixer for 1 to 2 minutes,put in loaf pan,let rise till it reaches the top of pan,put in oven at 350* for 55 minutes(cover with foil after 30 minutes is up,so it don't get too dark). It continues to rise when you put in oven. Overall a great gluten free bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this for my son after trying numerous premixes and following some other recipes in gf cookbooks. My son said this is the best bread I have EVER made (that includes the homemade breads/buns that I bake weekly). I do not have a bread maker, so followed another's suggestion. Proofed the yeast with milk and honey; then added the remaining wet ingredients. Mixed all the dry ingredients adding the salt to dry mixture. Added dry to wet ingredients in my kitchenaid. Placed in a greased/parchment lined bread pan to rise on stove for 40 minutes. Baked 40 minutes at 350. Cool completely; store in paperbag tucked in a ziploc. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
When mixing this bread recipe, I noticed the moisture content was very high. I had to add lots of extra flour. When I cut the recipe to 1/2 cup milk (NOT 1 1/2 cups milk), it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
WOW! This recipe was unbelievable. I can't believe I just ate a 1/2 loaf of this bread. It has so much flavor and is perfectly fluffy. By far one of my favorite bread recipes... no need for a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl in Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It worked really well for me! Made a few substitutions (used all white rice flour, replaced millet flour with more garbanzo bean flour, used brown sugar instead of honey, used almond milk, and used two eggs instead of the egg plus egg whites). Still turned out well, and it looked really good, too! The bread is soft yet strong enough to use as a sandwich bread, and was quite tasty. Not crumbly at all. I did not use a bread machine but just mixed with a hand mixer, allowed the dough to rise for one hour in the loaf pan, and baked at 350 F for 50 minutes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is easy and actually tastes good for GF. Two important things in my kitchen! I did add flax seed to the mix. I didn't use the bread machine for the first try, let it rise in the oven at 150 degrees, then baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sewall Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I would give this 5 stars if the instructions were a little more explicit about the consistency of the dough. This was my first attempt at gluten-free bread, after years of making gluten bread. I expected a soft pliable dough, what I had was something that resembled a very think pancake batter. I kept adding more flour, but could never come to that consistency. I finally gave up and put it into a bread pan, proofed it for an hour and baked at 375 until it was brown and sounded hollow. I ended up with a heavy dense bread, that was actually very tasty, and toasted well. I would like to try this recipe again, but have no idea what consistency the dough should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States