Alisha's Scalloped Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Too much ham. Have had other potato and ham scallop dishes much better than this. In the other recipes potatoes were thinly sliced and not precooked before putting in oven, and fresh onions were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used two russet potatoes for the mashed part and four red potatoes for the sliced part. I used the same amount of sour cream but backed off on the milk and used just enough to make the mashed part spreadable (not even 1/4 cup). The red potatoes give more texture, while the russets give more binding power. The overall taste was superior. I used 1/2 teaspoon each of the onion and garlic powders and the sharpest cheddar cheese I could find. The flavors exploded. Gonna do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This recipe was a big hit with my family. Quick, easy and tasty. I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is delicious!!!!! I got a lot of complements from this dish! Every one of my guests loved it, as did I. I cannot believe that this dish has so little reviews. I am going to be spreading this around! The only thing I did to alter the recipe was not adding the salt (I figured the ham had enough on its own).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xanecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Used plain Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream, 2% cheese, and added green pepper and onion (because that's what my family likes). I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
With the changes I made, my family loved this. I liked it OK. What I did differently: 1/2 cup of cheese blended with the mashed potato mixture; 1/2 sauteed onion added; 3 cloves garlic added. What I'd change in the future -- try to figure out how the make the mashed mixture so the texture's not so gluey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I'd give this receipe a "Great thumbs up"! Used what I had, cheesewhiz instead of cheddar and some quesadilla cheese on top. Put it in my favorites. Glad to see recent reviews on this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Double yum! I used red potatoes. The only thing I will do differently next time is remove the half of the potatoes that stay sliced 5 minutes earlier from the water. It was hard to mix everything up at the end and keep those slices intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very good!! I chopped one medium onion and cooked it in the 1/4 cup butter until translucent instead of dried onion powder. I also added a teaspoon of ground mustard powder and a few dashes of dried dill. The ham I used was slightly sweet and it was the perfect combination of flavors. We ate three servings each on Christmas Eve even though we weren't hungry anymore, it was that good! Tis' the season for glutany after all! :). I also increased the cheddar cheese to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I liked it. I did change up a bit. I used two cloves of garlic and an eighth of an onion and used a hand blender to combine them 1/2 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of melted butter and 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt (in place of the sour cream). Then I added the mixture to half of the potatoes and used the hand blender on them. Instead of mixing in the other half of the potatoes, I lined the bottom of the pan with them, covered them with half the mixture, added the diced ham, covered the top with the remainder of the creamed potatoes and then cheese to cover it all. I will try this recipe again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon E. Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States