Alisha's Scalloped Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was a great recipe. My husband doesnt usually like this dish, but he loved this recipe. He really liked the 'mushy' potaotes in it. i loved how easy and quick it was. And the potatoes were done! I did add 1/2 cup of diced onion instead of the onion powder. Other than that it was perfect! I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Better than DELICIOUS! It's fantastic and a great dish to make with leftovers. Thanks Alisha. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
There are so many words that could describe this: rich, cheesy, yummy, sinful. It’s like cheesy, chunky mashed potatoes. The only flaw I found with the recipe was the serving size. I think of scalloped potatoes as a main dish and this only made 8 small servings consistent with a side dish. I used med. large potatoes and when spread in the 9 x 13 pan, it was barely ¼” thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is a very flavorful recipe! I made a few substitutions with what I had on hand (cottage cheese in place of sour cream & a combination of Monterrey Jack & sharp cheddar cheese in place of cheddar). I also omitted the ham, as I am serving this with a pork loin. Thank you so much for sharing! Cottage cheese substitute for sour cream: 1 C. cottage cheese blended with 2 tsp lemon juice & enough milk to blend easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
These were very good. I either cut my potatoes too thin or cooked them a little too long. They all ended up pretty much like mashed potatoes. Still, this was a tasty meal on a cool, early Fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this as a main dish and it was delish. I used more garlic and lots more cheese since that is what we like. Definitely making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I liked it. I did change up a bit. I used two cloves of garlic and an eighth of an onion and used a hand blender to combine them 1/2 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of melted butter and 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt (in place of the sour cream). Then I added the mixture to half of the potatoes and used the hand blender on them. Instead of mixing in the other half of the potatoes, I lined the bottom of the pan with them, covered them with half the mixture, added the diced ham, covered the top with the remainder of the creamed potatoes and then cheese to cover it all. I will try this recipe again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon E. Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very good!! I chopped one medium onion and cooked it in the 1/4 cup butter until translucent instead of dried onion powder. I also added a teaspoon of ground mustard powder and a few dashes of dried dill. The ham I used was slightly sweet and it was the perfect combination of flavors. We ate three servings each on Christmas Eve even though we weren't hungry anymore, it was that good! Tis' the season for glutany after all! :). I also increased the cheddar cheese to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Double yum! I used red potatoes. The only thing I will do differently next time is remove the half of the potatoes that stay sliced 5 minutes earlier from the water. It was hard to mix everything up at the end and keep those slices intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I'd give this receipe a "Great thumbs up"! Used what I had, cheesewhiz instead of cheddar and some quesadilla cheese on top. Put it in my favorites. Glad to see recent reviews on this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States