Alisha's Scalloped Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made a few changes, but the basic recipe still would rate the five stars I believe. This was to be served with ham, so I dropped that. I had some heavy cream that needed using, so that went instead of the milk, and I misread, so the full amount of cheese went in, and then the same amount on top. Great, tasty recipe, my family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizajane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I was looking for a scalloped potatoes recipe similar to the old fashioned ones that my Grandparents used to make. I did not find that in this recipe. None the less, this dish was a treat to the taste buds. The texture of this recipe is more like mashed potatoes with ham. Creamy, cheesy, delicious! I didn't have any garlic powder or onion powder so those were left out. This dish was a big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I used red and russet potatoes. I cut back on the butter slightly adding a little olive oil and sautéed half a chopped onion, which I added to the potatoes, milk and sour cream prior to mashing. Also, I used a can of Campbell's cheddar cheese, which added great flavor! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and everyone loved it, company included. Next time I'll season more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
The boiling time is too long as written. I boiled mine for 15 minutes, and it was too long. Next time I will boil them for 10 minutes. I subbed ranch dressing for part of the milk, and it gave it a lovely flavor. My family gobbled this up. Next time I will probably make two pans for the seven of us, and enjoy the leftovers for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
supper easy and delicious, I think it is the best scalloped and potatoes and ham I have every made, I only used about 1/3 of the potatoes and put them in a blender for the sauce part, and I also use fat-free 1/2 and 1/2 to replace the milk and sour cream, tasted great with less calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rose City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Too much ham. Have had other potato and ham scallop dishes much better than this. In the other recipes potatoes were thinly sliced and not precooked before putting in oven, and fresh onions were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used two russet potatoes for the mashed part and four red potatoes for the sliced part. I used the same amount of sour cream but backed off on the milk and used just enough to make the mashed part spreadable (not even 1/4 cup). The red potatoes give more texture, while the russets give more binding power. The overall taste was superior. I used 1/2 teaspoon each of the onion and garlic powders and the sharpest cheddar cheese I could find. The flavors exploded. Gonna do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Guzauskas Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This recipe was a big hit with my family. Quick, easy and tasty. I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is delicious!!!!! I got a lot of complements from this dish! Every one of my guests loved it, as did I. I cannot believe that this dish has so little reviews. I am going to be spreading this around! The only thing I did to alter the recipe was not adding the salt (I figured the ham had enough on its own).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xanecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States