Ali's Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Added diced onions and some cumin. Really easy to make and super delicious. We will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This recipe was kind of bland as written, but it turned into a real treat with the addition of extra cilantro, a couple of tablespoons of fresh jalapeño pepper and a splash of lime juice. I was concerned that the lime juice might make the sauce curdle, so I tried adding it to just a few tablespoons of the sauce. No problems here, so I added it to the whole batch and it brightened the flavor beautifully! We served this on top of bowls of turkey chili, which was also big on flavor, but the punched up version we made would also be great with tortilla chips as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cann Lydem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a very good recipe for a green salsa. The primary criticisms I have read regarded texture where the critics said they solved the problem by adding more avocado. In all fairness to the recipe, this is a salsa and not a guacamole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really like the taste of the sauce (didn't end up using salt, didn't need it!. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is wonderful! I added lime juice to mine and OMG, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was pretty yummy! This is closest thing I have found to what they serve along with the red salsa here in Houston. I used 2 giant jalapenos (didn't remove all of the seeds, just most) and it made for a very spicy after taste and kind of overpowered the rest of the ingredients. I think I'll use 1 giant one or two smaller ones next time and it'll be much better. It's not quite as good as my favorite mexican places' green sauce, but close!! I also added some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
i kinda screwed up my proportions but it was still awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Scaled down this recipe to 4servings. Couldn't find a green tomato, so used red. Also, added alot more cilantro, salt, and Fruit Fresh to keep it green. Amazing sauce! Excellent on sandwiches, eggrolls, chicken, u name it, this is the best Avocado cream sauce I've had! Just like Chili's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This Green Sauce is fantastic!!! I read the reviews and decided to make it exactly as the recipes says just to test it for myself. I love creamy dips so I added the full 1 1/2 cups sour cream and thought it was perfect! Thanks for this recipe, my friends and family all really like it and a few have even asked for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Since I don't live in Texas, I am sure I have never tried the green sauce about which many have commented. Instead, this sauce reminded me of an avocado salsa that was offered at a chain Mexican restaurant that is no longer in our area-- much to our extreme sadness. Either way, it is delicious. I will make this often. Thank you for posting this recipe. It makes us miss our former fast food Mexican place a little less...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States