Ali's Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Very yummy! I used a bit more cilantro and garlic. I used "light" sour cream and only 1/2 cup per the other reviews. I have had this dip at the popular Texas restuarant chain and it's almost identical in flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Casa Ole' This dip is GREAT!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
OMG this is so good with fresh fried corn tortillas!!Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Wonderful! I couldn't find green tomatoes in my grocery store, so I just used regular. In addition, I used light sour cream. The amount of salt I used was 1/2 tsp. (perfect!). This sauce was great served with tortilla chips! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was fantastic! Just like the dip from the Mexican restaurant, only better! I didn't have green tomatoes, and the red ones worked fine. I did add some Chipotle Tabasco for some extra kick, along with some garlic salt. Even my husband, who doesn't like guacamole, loved this dip. I am so excited that I found this recipe! Thank you for sharing it with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it for a mexican fiesta that we had here. Several of our guests proclaimed that it was better than than served at our favorite mexican restaurant here - wonderful compliment. I could not find green tomatoes so I just used all tomatillos. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
To ensure it to be spicy, I included the jalapeno seeds. I did not have three avocados, but it still worked out well. I also added some diced avocado after blending to give it some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This green sauce is great. My husband said it is just like he remembers it at that Mexican restrant in Houston. Thanks Ali.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VER
Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is one of my family's favorite dips! My husband requests this frequently and I always take it (along with my homemade salsa) to parties. Only things I do different are that I use already chopped store bought garlic and eliminate the cilantro since my husband doesn't like cilantro. Also, I have started leaving the seeds in the jalapeno to add some extra spice and kick. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe like this - it's JUST like at the mexican restaurants here Texas! I've been trying to duplicate this for a while - perfect!! I would suggest adding 3/4c. sour cream instead of 1 1/2. I also added an extra jalepeno and threw in two small diced avocados at the end (they don't serve it like this at the restaurant, but my family thinks it adds a nice chunky texture). When adding the salt (I used garlic salt and sea salt) at the end...keep adding until it suits the flavor. The salt really brings out all of the veggies flavors!! Be prepared for a LOT of dip...but it will be eaten for sure! I'm going to try freezing a small amount of it and see how it does - so I'll be back to let yall know!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States