Ali's Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I am not from TX, so I'm not sure what restaurant this refers to and don't have a point of comparison. I had some green tomatoes to use up so I figured I would give this a try (we like tex mex). I followed the recipe closely except left the seeds in the peppers as other reviewers suggested. This was pretty good, but not lifechanging or a standout. My family prefers guacamole and also roasted tomatillo green salsa, so I'll make those next time instead of using those ingredients to make this, it is not bad, but it's not as good as either of those either. It was fun to try something new though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was good but I think it lacked in flavor just a bit. I only used about 1/2 cup sour cream. Maybe adding some lime next time might help with the lack of flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Tastes like the restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Instead of boiling the vegetables, you can roast them in a 400 degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes, then put them food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it for a mexican fiesta that we had here. Several of our guests proclaimed that it was better than than served at our favorite mexican restaurant here - wonderful compliment. I could not find green tomatoes so I just used all tomatillos. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe like this - it's JUST like at the mexican restaurants here Texas! I've been trying to duplicate this for a while - perfect!! I would suggest adding 3/4c. sour cream instead of 1 1/2. I also added an extra jalepeno and threw in two small diced avocados at the end (they don't serve it like this at the restaurant, but my family thinks it adds a nice chunky texture). When adding the salt (I used garlic salt and sea salt) at the end...keep adding until it suits the flavor. The salt really brings out all of the veggies flavors!! Be prepared for a LOT of dip...but it will be eaten for sure! I'm going to try freezing a small amount of it and see how it does - so I'll be back to let yall know!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is one of my family's favorite dips! My husband requests this frequently and I always take it (along with my homemade salsa) to parties. Only things I do different are that I use already chopped store bought garlic and eliminate the cilantro since my husband doesn't like cilantro. Also, I have started leaving the seeds in the jalapeno to add some extra spice and kick. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This green sauce is great. My husband said it is just like he remembers it at that Mexican restrant in Houston. Thanks Ali.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VER
Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Casa Ole' This dip is GREAT!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Yummeee! I love green sauce & now I can have it at home. This recipe makes ALOT!! I think next time I will try & add some onions & see how that taste. I also added more garlic powder when I added the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States