Ali's Amazing Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a good base for bruchetta recipe but there are a few things that are missing or can help make it better. First off, a little sugar really brings out the flavor of the tomatoes. Seondly I add a swirl of balsamic vinegar. I also sometimes add capers in for a nice touch. I also use a shallot instead of onion but either is fine. I do think it's important to toast the bread before putting the tomato mixture on there, otherwise it's too soggy. Just drizzle some olive oil on there and salt an pepper and then toast for just a few minutes. Gives it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Everything about this recipe is great, except I feel it is missing one major ingredient: GARLIC! I added garlic to mine and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love this recipe and have been making it for years when I have people over...and EVERYONE always wants more. I have always made the same alterations as most people here- add some minced garlic! The other change I make is to toast the bread alone after i have brushed it with the olive oil. Once it is toasted (heres a trick I learned from a gourmet chef)- you cut 1 or 2 garlic cloves in half width-wise and rub it on the tops of the toasted bread before spooning the tomato mixture onto it. For a kid-friendly recipe, I sprinkle a bit of grated cheddar on top and throw them back under the broiler for 30-60 seconds... Try this recipe! Its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Garlic is a must for this recipe. I used a crusty french bread rather than italian bread. If you're thinking of trying this recipe, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
very good -- I used much less onion, 3x as much basil, and I added garlic. 6 small Roma tomatoes made enough for a baguette (maybe 15 slices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Best ever and so easy. Don't have fresh tomatoes? Use drained diced tomatoes from the can. Hard to tell the difference. We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Add the garlic and you can't go wrong. I fixed this with Baked Zitti and my dinner guest were ready to leave tips on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Delicious! I added garlic to the recipe as well and used about twice the recommended amount of cheese for my cheese loving family. I had a few left over slices and they were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Wonderful and impressive. Made this for a party the other night and everyone loved it. I added garlic to this mixture. I love the way the vegetables have a soft roasted look to them. I have been sharing this recipe with others too. I made the mixture ahead of time and cut up the bread beforehand too, storing the bread in a plastic wrap. It was so easy to pop into the oven and within no time was done. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACIOUSONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
I thought this was great! It was easy to make and tasted delicious, I'm definitely making this again! Maybe I'll use shredded cheese instead of grated next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States