Ali's Amazing Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I am not really much of a tomato lover, but we had tons of plum tomatos in the garden this year, so I gave this a whirl. With the additions suggested by other reviewers, I used red onion, a bit of sugar, splash of basalmic vinegar, this was amazing! We wound up making so much, we skipped lunch all together, and then made it again later in the week. I highly recommend this! Next time I will try to add a little garlic too. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very Good, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I wish I could give this a 4 1/2. It's a great recipe but, I did make a few changes/additions. First, I did not have fresh oregano, so I used about 1/2 tsp. of dried leaf oregano. I added about a 1/2 tsp white sugar, 1/2 clove minced garlic, and a swirl of balsamic vinegar to the mix. I would also recommend squeezing some of the juice out of the tomatoes before chopping them. I baked the bread alone for 5 minutes, then topped with tomatoes and cheese and baked for another 3-5 minutes. It was delicious and looked pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe but one key difference is that I only toast the baguette and I serve the tomato mixture cold. I leave out the cheese, I don't think its necessary. I agree that sugar is key as well as a turn of the balsamic vinegar bottle in the mixture. My friends and I devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Taste was really good and everyone enjoyed it with their clams. A great summer snack. However watch how much tomato mixture you load on each bread slice....it will got soggy if you load it too much before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Fabulous bruschetta. Turned out great. Fast and easy appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My family and friends love this recipe. Like others I add garlic and more cheese. I use baguette bread and slice it really thin, this makes it nice and crispy. If time is hurried, I will broil these and they turn out just as crunchty as baking them. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Loved this, made no changes. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Make it a little early and put it in the fridge to let the bruschetta come together. Definitely add balsamic, I love basil. Fresh is better, but especially if you have time to let the dried herbs rehydrate in the mix, use 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good! My sister was ranting and raving about these, and it was perfect appetizer. I drizzled a little olive oil on top of parmesan cheese and used extra, fresh basil, but other than that pretty much stuck to recipe. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States