Ali's Amazing Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I always make a new recipe as stated first. This was a nice bruschetta but I found the bread a little soggy too. This is clearly not designed to be an Italian bruschetta as you cannot have that sans garlic. I lived in Sicily for two years and the second time I made it, I made these changes. I toasted the bread in the oven alone. Brushed w/EVOO & sprinkled w/a little salt and pepper. I use fleur de sel and fresh cracked black but it's a negligeble difference. When the toast is golden brown on both sides, flip after 4 minutes, I pull it out and allow to cool. Then I rub each toast with fresh garlic. Just slice off some so you have a raw face. I add diced garlic to the tomato mixture, use ciopollini onions but I love red too, a kiss of balsamic vinegar, sometimes capers (not authentic) and allow the mixture to marinate several hours. Cheese is also not traditional but in cheese loving America, I will add it sometimes and pop back under the broiler for a bit. But I know bruschetta to be a delicious cold tomato "relish" on top of room temperature toast and prefer to serve it that way. But I still enjoyed this recipe very much. I love trying new things and there's always more than one way to skin a cat, as grandma used to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious. My kids were fighting over who got the last piece! I added a sprinkle of garlic powder, salt and pepper to each when making mine. It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I agree with other reviewers - toast the bread before adding the tomato mixture and then toast everything a couple more minutes! Plus, garlic makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a very simple and delicious recipe. Everyone loved it. I will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This bruschetta is excellent. I always add grated garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Everyone raved about this at our family gathering. I personally thought it had too much onion, but no one else seemed to mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is so easy to make and tastes so good, it is sinful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Made this for the big Texan's game we had a week ago, had people over, and most of them are meat eaters. But everyone loved this! I coupled this meal with the Asparagus and Goat Cheese Quesadillas, and it was a hit, no one even complained or missed any animal products that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EStephen
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As said before, I think this is a good base for bruschetta, however I tweaked it a little. I'm not a fan of onions so I didn't use them. I added salt and pepper to taste and a little dried rosemary and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EStephen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yum! I too, after reading reviews, toasted the bread first after brushing with olive oil. Also added minced garlic and a splash of balsamic for a little sweet to bring out the flavor in the tomatoes. This was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States