Ali's Amazing Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I love this recipe and it's always a hit. Although it's great as written, you can tweak it to your liking. I've added garlic, dried herbs, more onion, etc. When short on time I've used the toasted garlic bread slices from the bakery section and just put mixture on top minus the oven. Try to use a better quality olive oil and I usually make the mixture a couple hours in advance and let it sit room temperature a couple hours before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I always make a new recipe as stated first. This was a nice bruschetta but I found the bread a little soggy too. This is clearly not designed to be an Italian bruschetta as you cannot have that sans garlic. I lived in Sicily for two years and the second time I made it, I made these changes. I toasted the bread in the oven alone. Brushed w/EVOO & sprinkled w/a little salt and pepper. I use fleur de sel and fresh cracked black but it's a negligeble difference. When the toast is golden brown on both sides, flip after 4 minutes, I pull it out and allow to cool. Then I rub each toast with fresh garlic. Just slice off some so you have a raw face. I add diced garlic to the tomato mixture, use ciopollini onions but I love red too, a kiss of balsamic vinegar, sometimes capers (not authentic) and allow the mixture to marinate several hours. Cheese is also not traditional but in cheese loving America, I will add it sometimes and pop back under the broiler for a bit. But I know bruschetta to be a delicious cold tomato "relish" on top of room temperature toast and prefer to serve it that way. But I still enjoyed this recipe very much. I love trying new things and there's always more than one way to skin a cat, as grandma used to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious. My kids were fighting over who got the last piece! I added a sprinkle of garlic powder, salt and pepper to each when making mine. It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I agree with other reviewers - toast the bread before adding the tomato mixture and then toast everything a couple more minutes! Plus, garlic makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a very simple and delicious recipe. Everyone loved it. I will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This bruschetta is excellent. I always add grated garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Everyone raved about this at our family gathering. I personally thought it had too much onion, but no one else seemed to mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is so easy to make and tastes so good, it is sinful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Made this for the big Texan's game we had a week ago, had people over, and most of them are meat eaters. But everyone loved this! I coupled this meal with the Asparagus and Goat Cheese Quesadillas, and it was a hit, no one even complained or missed any animal products that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EStephen
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As said before, I think this is a good base for bruschetta, however I tweaked it a little. I'm not a fan of onions so I didn't use them. I added salt and pepper to taste and a little dried rosemary and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EStephen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States