Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used about half of the cayenne that the recipe called for and it was the perfect heat for me. I served it over quinoa. Even though I diced my potatoes small, it took almost an hour for them to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Hailing from an Indian family, we grew up eating the more traditional (dry) version of this sabji (in Gujarati, it's called bataaka-phulaaver nu shaak). I was hesitant to depart from tradition but, the end product, with the coconut milk (we used light!) and tomato sauce was delicious! Once you've added the cauliflower/potatoes/chickpeas, don't worry if it seems like there isn't enough liquid for everything to cook--it WILL cook and the liquids will sufficiently cook/absorb all the raw veggies. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was very good! I just had Aloo Gobi for the first time at a local Indian restaurant and decided I had to try it at home. This was very similar to the restaurant recipe. I did leave out the garam masala based on another review. Also, I only used about 1/2 the can of coconut milk and 1/2 the cayenne pepper. This was perfect for us -- very spicy without being overpowering. However, for authenticity, I'd use the full amount of cayenne called for in this recipe. The restaurant Aloo Gobi we had was much spicier than this version was using half the cayenne, so 1 Tbsp. is probably just about right for real Aloo Gobi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was very tasty but it was knock-your-socks-off spicy! I like flavorful but this was really hot. When I make it again, I will leave out the cayenne pepper. I used cream instead of coconut milk so maybe that made it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Left out the salt and cinnamon. Used a tsp instead of a tbsp of cayenne. I figured that those who like more spice can always add more later. Used one tbsp of garam masala. I think it was too smokey though and I'd cut it down to 2 tsp next time. Also, I added half a bell pepper for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was really good . . . like Alicia I love a saucy curry and though Aloo Gobi is meant to be a dry curry, I liked this wetter version a lot. I can't put my finger on it but there was something missing from this recipe. It was really good and I will make it again and play with the spices a bit (definitely cut back the garam masala and the cayenne too if you don't want it too hot!). I think I may saute the spices next time with the onions and garlic, maybe that will bring out their flavor more? The heat of the cayenne seems to overpower the other flavors here. I also agree that the full can of coconut milk is a bit much, it probably does only need half unless you like it really wet/saucy. Overall, we really enjoyed this! And it made A LOT of food~have frozen half to see how well it keeps for a future meal! And there's still plenty left for lunch today. So great as this was a very inexpensive meal to make. Served with basmati rice and naan, great dinner! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Awesome, just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This wasn't great for us. Based on other reviews I reduced the salt, and left out the garam masala. I also halved the cayenne as my family don't like their food too hot. Although it had some heat to it because of the cayenne, otherwise it was very bland. Not sure where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Delicious the way it is! Good spices and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
**UPDATE: made this several times and loved it. But as a working mom of 3 little kids, this could never make the weeknight rotation...Until I found out that I could make it in the CROCK POT. I threw all the ingredients into the crock pot and just let it cook- it turned out fantastic!. I cooked it on low for about an hour but it didn't seem to be cooking fast enough so I turned it to high for 3 more hours and it was perfect. If I had to put it on first thing in the morning I would put it on low and let it cook all day- I think that would work out fine.** Delicious! I followed other reviewers suggestions and skipped the garam masala- I tasted when it was almost ready and we liked it as is. I cut my potatoes rather small, so this cooked up in about 45 minutes. I also followed the reviewer tip to go to an Indian grocer to buy the spices- that was a great way to save $ on the ingredients! Not to mention that the recipe made 3 large servings plus enough for 3 lunches. We served with basmati rice and naan- this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States