Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
When I was reading the recipe, I said to myself; "A TBSP of salt? Really?" But yes, a TBSP of salt. Really. It's all that salt that really opens up your taste buds and then ALL that cayenne makes you want to cry from the fire-hot sensation coated across your tongue. To be clear, I didn't mind this dish, but I agree that there is something not quite right about the spices. The salt should be cut at least half and that a TBSP of cayenne is waaay too much. Honestly, I'd probably only add a TSP since all you can taste is heat past the first bite. Garam Masala is pretty much just an exact repeat of the spices that are already in this dish, but it also has some clove and nutmeg. I didn't mind it, but it's not a necessity for this dish. UPDATE: Okay... I was totally dreading the leftovers, but I enjoyed this WAY more after it had been sitting in the fridge for a couple of days. The flavours worked a lot better, but it was still too salty and too hot. I decided to try this dish again. Given how saucy the dish is, it is perfectly adaptable to the slowcooker. Follw step 1, then everything into the slowcooker. Frozen cauliflower and potatoes slightly smaller than 1" cubes on high for 5 hrs cooked everything to the point that some was stuck on the the sides. Could have cut cook time to 4 hrs and been fine. Used about 1 tsp salt and about 1 tsp cayenne and used the garam masala. Much preferred the heat, but had to add salt after cooking. Great to be able to do this in the slowcooker :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
It was pretty tasty. Not sure if I'd make again but very good and cheap dinner. Looking at the recipe, I'm not sure how people got the potatoes and cauliflower to get tender without adding the entire can of coconut milk. I ended up having to add chicken stock to cook my potatoes. I did find out that the "missing ingredient" was lemon juice. Add a little at the end and it cuts through the heaviness of the dish. Served with basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The only knock is that it is TOO spicy for me. I put the whole tablespoon in because I like to follow the original recipe. The garam masala was added at the end as well and I thought it was fine. The sauce would be perfect without all of that pepper. Chick peas, potatoes and cauliflower are three of my favorite curry vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Cooked this tonight for the first time for hubby and college age daughter. We LOVED it! We have a sister-in-law who is from India and she used to always make Aloo Gobi for Christmas dinner and my family said this was just as good as hers! Per reviewers suggestions I used 1 tsp cayenne pepper, skipped garam masala, steamed cauliflower ahead of time and added towards the end. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is amazing! To make it healthier I completely left out the olive oil & coconut milk. In place of the liquid (coconut milk) to give the ingredients a place to boil, I just added water. I used regular potatoes, which worked fine. I steamed the cauliflower separately and throw it in at the end to ensure it wouldn't overcook (I have struggled with this in the past). I also added chopped carrots & a can of drained peas. Per the recommendations of others, I left out the garam masala. It was perfect! I also recommend cooking this recipe a few days before eating it and just keeping it in the fridge - that allows for the spices to settle in much better. Growing up on my aunts' Indian food, this recipe is PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yumm-o! Thanks, next time I'm going to add some steamed fish at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used about half of the cayenne that the recipe called for and it was the perfect heat for me. I served it over quinoa. Even though I diced my potatoes small, it took almost an hour for them to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Hailing from an Indian family, we grew up eating the more traditional (dry) version of this sabji (in Gujarati, it's called bataaka-phulaaver nu shaak). I was hesitant to depart from tradition but, the end product, with the coconut milk (we used light!) and tomato sauce was delicious! Once you've added the cauliflower/potatoes/chickpeas, don't worry if it seems like there isn't enough liquid for everything to cook--it WILL cook and the liquids will sufficiently cook/absorb all the raw veggies. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was very good! I just had Aloo Gobi for the first time at a local Indian restaurant and decided I had to try it at home. This was very similar to the restaurant recipe. I did leave out the garam masala based on another review. Also, I only used about 1/2 the can of coconut milk and 1/2 the cayenne pepper. This was perfect for us -- very spicy without being overpowering. However, for authenticity, I'd use the full amount of cayenne called for in this recipe. The restaurant Aloo Gobi we had was much spicier than this version was using half the cayenne, so 1 Tbsp. is probably just about right for real Aloo Gobi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was very tasty but it was knock-your-socks-off spicy! I like flavorful but this was really hot. When I make it again, I will leave out the cayenne pepper. I used cream instead of coconut milk so maybe that made it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States