Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Recipe is very tasty. Loved it. Thanks, Alicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing this!!! I adulterated your version a bit by substituting sweet potatoes for the Yukon Golds, but stuck to the recipe on everything else. Ahh-ma-zing. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I almost doubled the spices because I like it that more intense - great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I would give this recipe five stars except that the cooking time is very, very, very wrong. At 5pm, I reduced heat to low (step 3) and covered it. At 6pm, I went to check to see if the potatoes were done. They were completely raw. I turned up the heat to a 3 (medium-low) and covered it again. At 7:30pm, my husband and I ate it but without our son. We had to put him to bed after an instant Mac 'N Cheese dinner. Even after it cooked for two and a half hours (most of which was done on a higher temp than the recipe called for), my husband said it would have been better if it was cooked longer. The flavors were great, but it's upsetting to have to wait hours to eat dinner when you're not expecting it. I'll make this again because it was delicious, but I'll cook it on medium-low for 2-3 hours next time (instead of low for the first hour). I should add that I followed the recipe exactly except that I only put in a dash of salt, and I skipped the cayenne pepper because I just didn't see it in the recipe list. I did use the masala. The flavors were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Delicious! Very spicy, which I like, but next time will try significantly reducing the Cayenne pepper in an effort to make it kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is awesome - super tasty, perfectly seasoned and very satisfying. Because I didn't have any I left out the garam masala and cumin seeds (but replaced with a bit of ground cumin powder). Also decreased the amount of salt per other suggestions. Otherwise followed this pretty closely. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
When I was reading the recipe, I said to myself; "A TBSP of salt? Really?" But yes, a TBSP of salt. Really. It's all that salt that really opens up your taste buds and then ALL that cayenne makes you want to cry from the fire-hot sensation coated across your tongue. To be clear, I didn't mind this dish, but I agree that there is something not quite right about the spices. The salt should be cut at least half and that a TBSP of cayenne is waaay too much. Honestly, I'd probably only add a TSP since all you can taste is heat past the first bite. Garam Masala is pretty much just an exact repeat of the spices that are already in this dish, but it also has some clove and nutmeg. I didn't mind it, but it's not a necessity for this dish. UPDATE: Okay... I was totally dreading the leftovers, but I enjoyed this WAY more after it had been sitting in the fridge for a couple of days. The flavours worked a lot better, but it was still too salty and too hot. I decided to try this dish again. Given how saucy the dish is, it is perfectly adaptable to the slowcooker. Follw step 1, then everything into the slowcooker. Frozen cauliflower and potatoes slightly smaller than 1" cubes on high for 5 hrs cooked everything to the point that some was stuck on the the sides. Could have cut cook time to 4 hrs and been fine. Used about 1 tsp salt and about 1 tsp cayenne and used the garam masala. Much preferred the heat, but had to add salt after cooking. Great to be able to do this in the slowcooker :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
It was pretty tasty. Not sure if I'd make again but very good and cheap dinner. Looking at the recipe, I'm not sure how people got the potatoes and cauliflower to get tender without adding the entire can of coconut milk. I ended up having to add chicken stock to cook my potatoes. I did find out that the "missing ingredient" was lemon juice. Add a little at the end and it cuts through the heaviness of the dish. Served with basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The only knock is that it is TOO spicy for me. I put the whole tablespoon in because I like to follow the original recipe. The garam masala was added at the end as well and I thought it was fine. The sauce would be perfect without all of that pepper. Chick peas, potatoes and cauliflower are three of my favorite curry vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Cooked this tonight for the first time for hubby and college age daughter. We LOVED it! We have a sister-in-law who is from India and she used to always make Aloo Gobi for Christmas dinner and my family said this was just as good as hers! Per reviewers suggestions I used 1 tsp cayenne pepper, skipped garam masala, steamed cauliflower ahead of time and added towards the end. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States