Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
we really enjoyed this. Easy to make with good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner last night alongside Chicken Tikka Masala (also from this site), basmati rice and grilled naan, we really enjoyed the end result. I used ground cumin in place of the cumin seeds because that's what I had on hand, I omitted the turmeric because our local grocery store didn't have any, I reduced the amount of cayenne to about 3/4 tsp (kids don't like things spicy). I also omitted the beans and the garam masala (based on other reviews) and the end result was really good! The only change I will make next time is to stew everything together and only add the cauliflower for the last 30 minutes or so (I should note that I stewed mine for about 90 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at cooking Indian food. Thank you Alicia! My husband said that if all vegetables tasted like this (i.e., the cauliflower), he would eat them more often! Now, on to an Indian eggplant recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
not bad, but not my favorite curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was very good. As others have suggested, I omitted the garam masala and cinnamon, cut the salt in half and added only a teaspoon of cayenne pepper as well as half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I then sprinkled a generous amount of paprika on top of the cauliflower and potatoes then simply baked them at 400°F for about 45 minutes (or until a fork nicely pierces through a potato), stirring once. For a lighter coconut milk, I purchased Mae Ploy coconut milk from the Thai supermarket(which was quite cheap) and used about 2/3 cup mixed with a cup of unsweetened almond milk which added the right amount of creaminess. Light coconut milk is really JUST full fat coconut milk dilluted with water. Lastly, I served this with quinoa and naan bread that was lightly toasted with minced garlic and topped with fresh chopped parsley. So delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a great Indian recipe for the timid cook! Very easy directions, and pretty cheap ingredients, apart from the coriander and garam masala, which I omitted. I added a little curry powder, increased the cumin to 2 tsp (ground), used tiny red potatoes to make it cook faster, and used broccoli instead of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I've tried all different Aloo Gobi recipes off of the internet, this one's my favorite. I didn't have cumin seeds so I just used ground cumin. Used only 1T of garam masala. Threw in the spices after I sauted the garlic for a minute to toast the spices. I used sweet potatoes, cut into small cubes to speed up cooking time. I cooked those first for about 30 min. before I threw in the cauliflower. I didn't have a whole head of cauliflower so I supplemented with broccoli. I am an Indian food lover, and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this with sweet potatoes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
way too much turmeric and coriander not to mention salt! had to double coconut milk and tomatos and start over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States