Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
we really enjoyed this.. i almost made a huge mistake by nearly forgetting the turmeric.. thankfully i had bf around to remind me.. instead of the coconut milk i used half yogurt and half almond milk.. i also added extra almond milk during cooking bc it started getting dry.. i didn't find this to be too salty.. but i did try to halve the cayenne.. came up short so subbed the last tsp with crushed red pepper.. omitted the garbanzo beans and added peas and carrots in it's place.. very tasty.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe many times now, for the whole family and everyone loves it. The only change I made was to cut the garam masala in half as it made it too spicy for my 5 year old. Love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Delightfully spicy with only 1 teaspoon of cayenne. Will probably take the salt down to 1 teaspoon next time too. I found it to be a bit too salty when I used 1 tablespoon of salt. Taste testing while it was cooking and liked it more before the garam marsala was added; I will probably delete the garam marsala from the recipe next time. But there will be a next time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c3veggies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent with a ton of flavour! As many others commented, I scaled the cayenne WAY back, used only 1 teaspoon - I can't imagine what a full tablespoon would taste like, pretty sure it would completely overwhelm this recipe! I also used ground cumin as I didn't have any seeds and then only used about two thirds of the can of coconut milk and about one tablespoon of the garam masala at the end (also as other reviewers noted). Very yummy and great for leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I found it odd that this does not call for curry powder so I added 2 TBSP of yellow curry powder. I also cut the cayenne in half and added some diced chicken. loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
i love this, but i have to cut the spices in half (except salt) to make it a family friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was really good! On recommendation of some other reviewers, I also left out the garam masala and it turned out just right. The chickpeas become so creamy! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
loved it. didn't add garam masala b/c didn't have any and it didn't matter: this was awesome. i liked the cayenne kick. next time, i will try what others suggested and use less coconut milk (perhaps try yogurt instead) to see what a less wet consistency is like. thanks for the awesome meal! :) i have a lot left over so i will experiment with freezing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sevigny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States