Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Another review. I had some leftover cilantro. Chopped it up and added it to the sauce before cooking. WONDERFUL! And I agreee with cooking it in a pot or skillet as opposed to microwaving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Cooked on the stove w/ leftover rotisserie chicken and served over noodles. Used cream of chicken soup instead of chicken broth so it was nice and thick. Also a tbsp of garlic salt and a tsp of cajun seasoning. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was delicious! Of course I made my own adjustments, but I will definitely make it again! I did not use the microwave, as other reviews suggested, and simmered everything for 30 minutes...the sauce thickens! I also used red wine instead of white wine because that was all I had on hand...and it came out wonderful! In addition, I diced up some onion and tossed in some minced garlic and sauteed it with the chicken before I combined everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Like others, we skipped the microwave. I greased a cast-iron pan with olive oil, and cooked the chicken covered, turning once. (This kept enough liquid in I didn't need to add any.) Then I drained the liquid it made and added the rest of the ingredients as specified, and simmered uncovered for maybe 30 minutes. No need for it to be too thick -- the sauce is delicious on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Unique. Good but not excellent. I don't like the sauce by itself much (i.e. I would not like this mixed in with noodles, or worse, rice) because the wine and sour cream didn't seem to match, in my opinion. But once put together with the chicken it was fine. Kinda grew on me as I went. I did add more salt and lemon pepper because otherwise it seemed a bit dull - a pinch of those just didn't do anything. I did everything on the stove. I don't get the point of the microwaving - it's really not faster or easier, probably doesn't thicken as well (tho I didn't try it), and it just dirties another dish since I put everything in the pan I cooked the chicken in. I also cooked the chicken fully and added to the sauce when it was done just to heat. A weight on the chicken would be helpful. I'd also suggest not listing the broth as an ingredient, but simply say in the instructions to reserve 1/4 cup of it - first time I made it I measured out canned chicken broth before I realized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used Kraft Mexican Four Cheese, white cooking wine, a dash of lemon juice (fresh), a dash of pepper, and a pinch of salt. I did not cook in microwave. I put it in a saucepan and simmered until the thickness I wanted and drained the chicken and cut in strips and put back in pot I boiled the chicken in and simmered until I thought it was done. Wonderful!!! Hope my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This dish far exceeded my expectations! Like other reviewers on here I did a little altering. First I coated the chicken breasts with the lemon pepper and pan seared them. I increased the sour cream to 16 ounces and increased the parm cheese to 1/2 cup. After chicken breasts were seared from pan I removed them and cut up. I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup chicken broth. I let the sauce simmer down to thicken up then added chicken pieces back in. I did not use any salt in this recipe. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkbonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
So, SO good! A few changes. We pan seared the chicken with garlic and olive oil. Then sliced and put in a baking dish. For the sauce we doubled the parm, doubled the chicken broth, and left out the wine. We also used salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and some splashes of lemon juice. Melted that in a sauce pan and poured over the chicken. Cooked in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes and served over noodles. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made this for my GF who love love loved it!!! She even asked for the recipe. I also modified the recipe. Browned chicken on stove top, I may try grilling the chicken next time with Laurys seasoning salt. I also made the sauce on the stove top not microwave for me, sorry I just only use it to warm things up. My issue :) Doubled the sauce added mushrooms, onions and peas for color. Served over bow tie pasta. My sauce actually thickened quite quickly and I had to add more wine, and more wine and more wine:) The wine makes the dish, use a good wine not something you wouldn't serve your guests. I'm really not sure why others have had trouble with the sauce, I highly reccomend this receipe. Thank you so much Alice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was simple and we just couldn't get enough of it. Had to add a bit more spices to doctor it up though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States