Algerian Kefta (Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These were very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have any ras el hanout, so I checked AR for what it's made of and simply sprinkled said spices over the tomatoes towards the end. My 3-year old and I gobbled them up for lunch today along with zucchini patties and it was a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful dinner! I served it over rice and substituted a few pinches of cumin and lemon zest for the ras el hanout, and fresh parsley for dried. Also left out the water as the tomatoes made it saucy enough and made the meatballs a bit more bite-sized. Otherwise, terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I loved these. I made them exactly as called for - but used minced onion instead of chopped. For the tomato sauce - I got creative and added: 1 can rotel, 1 can of italian stewed tomatoes, sofrito (from the spanish isle), some salsa, splash of A1 bold, a 1/2 lime (squeezed), more sofrito, pepper and some cumin. Sofrito adds a little zip and spice to the sauce, as I did not have ras el hanout. Simmer on low and added on top of the meatballs. It was SO good and my company for dinner that night were AMAZED! This is my new "go to" recipe for meatballs. My FAVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These meatballs put inside a French baguette make a pretty good meatball sandwich. However, I think I would throw a little ras el handout into the ground beef if I made it again to give the meat a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Good meatballs and a nice change from the "run of the mill" meatball recipe. I used a few sprinkles of cumin in place of the ras el hanout and served them in hoagie rolls since we've had a lot of rice lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Fantastic! Made as directed. I did put a little flour in the sauce to thicken it up a bit. I served it over white rice. Even my picky eater went back for seconds! Next time I will double the sauce. This will be a regular at our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Dennington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I wanted something different to add to my low carb menu. This was a nice addition. I found the ras el hanout at Central Market and am glad I didn't omit it or substitute anything for it - it has quite a unique flavor. I followed the recipe except used ground turkey instead of beef. The tomatoes were tasty, but seemed like something was missing. My boyfriend and I will definitely keep it in the rotation and experiment some with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was good, but I didn't find that the meat had enough flavor. The flavor was mostly in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The recipe is perfect and even better with ground goat or lamb! I happened to have all the ingredients for the ras el hanout spice/herb mixture- I think you really do need at least some of these spices. We'll be making this again lots of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
loved these, I also added some garbanzos to the sauce. SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States