Algerian Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but cooking the spices in oil didn't work for me, everything just burned even though I have the burner on the lowest setting. I started again and used a cup of the cooking liquid and threw all the ingredients in that until it began a soft boil then threw the carrots in. It's very tasty and even my picky 2 year old went back for seconds. Will make it this way from now on as it was so easy. I served this as an accompaniment to cilantro chicken and pilau rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Delicious! My family loved these, even those who aren't fond of cooked carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made these carrots for dinner tonight. I followed it for the most part. The only thing I changed was I reduced the amount of carrots by about 1/2 pound, I used a little less oil, and only about 1/2 of the cinnamon called for. Everyone liked them (except the 11 year old who didn't like the spice blend). I love carrots so I will be making them again, but will probably reduce the cinnamon even further as it was a rather bold, albeit nice, flavor. Oh yeah, I also used baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
The flavors in this dish are tasty, but it was excessively greasy. If you make it, I suggest lowering the olive oil by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I reread the reviews after trying this recipe and I can't quite believe them. I thought this recipe was awful. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
i'm not a big fan of cooked carrots.. but we really enjoyed this.. i think we could have gone with a little less salt.. but it was still good.. we upped the pepper by at least double.. also doubled the garlic.. halved both the cinnamon and the thyme.. the lemon was a must.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe is yummy and healthy! This will be a standard in my kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great! and Vegan! I just thought this recipe could be simplified. There are too many steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Loved the flavor of this, but I felt like it was way too much oil! I actually added a small chopped pear to mine in the last step - just warmed it through with the carrots. Delicious!! Thanks for the unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States