Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I originally found this recipe while looking for a way to use up an egg yolk. The flavor was pretty good, mild and a little sweet. The texture is where I had problems. The butter separated from the rest of the sauce and the whole thing is really thick. Actually, the sauce came out really thick before I even added the egg yolk, so I'm wondering what the point was to the egg yolk? I would've used that for something else! Anyway, it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't rave about it. Might try another alfredo sauce and compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakeryBabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great alfredo sauce! For a family of 5, I did double the recipe. I only had 1/2 the amount of cream needed, so I did add some flour to the melted butter initially to thicken things up a bit. Also didn't have both kinds of cheese, only parmesean (and I used a little more than called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
very easy to make, and miles better than the jar stuff you can buy at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
good flavor but something isn't right with the texture. I've made it a couple times and I can't get it smooth enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the directions to the T and added a few different things. No Romano (didn't have any LOL) and fresh chopped garlic simmering in the butter until it melted. It came out a little thick when I did it (used heavy crm) but I added a little bit of milk and that helped. I loved it and so did my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
The real deal! Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My girls loved it! A very simple and quick recipe. I didn't use Romano as too strong of a flavor for my kids so I doubled the Parmesan. My only additions were to add fresh grated garlic and black pepper. I will add this recipe to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I am a 20 yr old college student who is just learning how to cook. After reading a bunch of reviews I decided to try this recipe and was amazed at how well it turned out! In addition to what this recipe called for I also added *2 Tbsp of Cream Cheese*1/4 tsp of black pepper*and some crushed basil (because basil is awesome!) My sister who doesn't even like Alfredo said it was amazing and don't listen to all the reviews that said you need to grate the cheese yourself. Just stir the cheese in well when you put it in, I used shredded and it came out beautiful. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
YUM! Quick & easy, tasted great. Made a few changes: used half & half instead of heavy cream & omited the egg yolk and it still thickened up fine. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookincarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States