Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made it without changing anything. Then I made it using other reviewers changes. My advice. Do NOT make the changes. Leave the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was terrific! I think the egg yolk is the magic ingredient. Usually my attempts at alfredo are somewhat grainy or clumpy - this was velvety smooth. I did add a little fresh chopped garlic to the melting butter and a dash of white pepper to the finished product. I served half as is and added some pesto to the other half - super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
After reading almost all the reviews, I had to try this (with a few changes-of course). I changed the serving size to 6 & printed out the recipe. Used 1 stick of butter (I think I could have gotten by with just 6 Tbsp.) and 2 garlic cloves, added the whipping cream. Did the salt, pepper, and nutmeg. I used a whole bag (1 1/2c.) of finely shredded Parm cheese, bc I didn't have Romano. Next time (yes, there will be a next time), I plan to grate my own Parm cheese and try to get Romano. I kept whisking it but the Parm cheese never really melted all the way. My fettuccine noodles were done (12 oz. box), so I had to get the eggs in there. I tempered them first and then whisked them in the sauce in the pan and continued to cook (low) for another 3 or so min. It was good! My only problem was the fine little pieces of Parm cheese that didn't melt. Hopefully, when I grate my own block of Parm cheese it will melt better, and I will stick to the amount stated in recipe. Had a med. bowl of sauce, noodles, and chicken left. I served 5 people. My son and I have found that leftover alfredo sauce is pretty darn good over a piece of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a great hit in the household, I made a few minor adjustments though. I used 3 cloves of garlic to make the flavor a bit stronger (being Ukrainian after all) also a dash or two of garlic powder and about a teaspoon of black pepper. Wonderful recipe I have it with fried ravioli or fettuccine at least twice a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Easy, quick and DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Made this for the second time. Again, Excellent! This time however, I lowered the heat and stirred the heck out of the sauce as the cheese was melting. I cut back on the butter as well and this time the sauce was smooth (did I mention excellent????) FIRST REVIEW: Excellent! I prepared exactly as stated and loved it. I did add broccoli to the pasta as it cooked and cubed ham to the sauce just before serving. It really was wonderful! I have a question and hope someone here can help. While this tasted excellent, it looked awful. I couldn't get the cheese sauce smooth. How do you get the cheese to thoroughly melt so that the sauce is smooth???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made a roux as another reviewer suggested and used 2% lactose free milk and Earth Balance (my son is lactose intolerant). I added a clove of minced garlic to mine, too. I honestly couldn't tell the difference between what I made and the jarred stuff, yet mine was lower fat. Great recipe! I'm sure it would have been even richer if I could have used heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Best Alfredo sauce ever! I didn't have Romano cheese so just used all Parmesan. The egg yolk was such a fantastic element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I almost forgot to add the egg but added it at the last minute, it really did make the flavor better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Best Alfredo ever and soo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States