Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Bland, uninspiring, and expensive, not to mention fattening. I am one to splurge on calories in favor of flavor, but this sauce does not redeem itself. If you do decide to try, at least double the garlic and listen to the other reviewers--do not use Kraft or similar Parmesan cheese. Better to use your ingredients elsewhere than end up with a grainy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this last night and it was excellent with this substitution: one cup of grated mixed Romano/Parmesan (Kraft) and a half a cup of higher quality grated Pecorino Romano cheese that I brought back from Italy. You could get a similar quality of cheese from any good deli in the States. Romano cheese is sharper and much more flavorful than Parmesan. The sauce was excellent just with that substitution, but then I also added some morel mushrooms and topped with cooked crumbled bacon (didn't have prosciutto - ham would have worked well, too) and it was incredible. The quality of the cheese you add is the key to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe really does taste exactly like Olive Garden's Alfredo. You can use milk and cornstarch or flour instead of cream, reduce the amount of butter (considerably), and it tastes just as good! I love, love, LOVE this recipe. I make it at least once a month. :) :) :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I didn't care for the consistency of this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I was skeptical of which recipe to choose but I'm glad I went with this one. I'm a fiend for chicken Alfredo at Olive Garden, I never order anything different so I'm glad I now know how to make something that tastes almost identical! My only complaint is the chicken I bought from the store to go in it sucked but the sauce definitely made up for it. Can't wait for my boyfriend to come home and eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
It's sad that I had to modify this recipe greatly just so that it would taste good for me. Just by looking at the ingredients, I knew right away it would be plain. So, some changes I made were by adding salt, pepper, cayenne, chili powder, baby portobello mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, and some milk. With my additions, my pasta was much more flavorful. Also, instead of just using parmesan cheese, I added four other kinds of cheese (asiago, romano, mozzarella, & provolone). I still can't believe many reviewers just went with the exact recipe and thought it tasted good. Honestly, I find it just to be the base recipe and you're supposed to add in other things to it. WHY??!?!? (That would be so plain and boring!) - A college student who likes to cook P.S. To the people who thinks Olive Garden's alfredo dish is amazing...Olive Garden does not use many fresh ingredients. They use a lot of packaged/frozen food. I do not consider Olive Garden a real, authentic Italian restaurant. The only freshly made thing they got are salads and breads. Everything else, they reheat. Also, they use a lot of MSG and salt. Please do yourself a favor and treat yourself to an actual authentic Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ort

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used Kraft Shredded Parmesan, little flakes of it in a clear tupperware container and dumped the whole thing in. Melted evenly and the taste was better than I expected for Kraft, in case anyone is looking for an afforbale alternative to the shaker-parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I make this ath
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Yum! I added some leftover cooked chicken chopped , some extra garlic, a dash of crushed red pepper and a little basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
OMG!!!!!!!! THIS IS SMACK YOUR MAMA GOOD!!!! Grilled chicken and shrimp to add to sauce, my whole family LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States