Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was a good start. I knew from reading the recipe that it didn't have enough garlic for my family so I chose to use 3-cloves. That's a personal preference so I did not ding the recipe for that. However, even using the heavy cream the sauce did come out very thin. I mixed a little (1 heaping teaspoon) of corn starch to a little water and added it the sauce. It only took a minute or so at a slow simmer for the sauce to thicken right up. I also added a teaspoon of black pepper (again personal preference). Since you can not allow a cream sauce to boil, I also think it best to add the garlic when melting the butter and allow it to sauté for 2 or 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed all of the instructions except instead of parsley I added a dried Italian seasoning mix. It was absolutely delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Good option for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was ok but kind of bland. I think the garlic should be gently cooked in the butter before adding the cream. Another recipe I have that I think is better uses a full stick of butter for 1c of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend, who only orders Alfredo at any Italian restaurant we go to. He said it was better than in the restaurant. I used table cream instead of full cream and of course almost tripled the garlic as we are huge garlic fans. I used freshly grated parmasian and it melted amazingly. I even at left overs 2 days later and it was just as good. You can even use this Alfredo sauce as a bread dip! Yum! Enjoy everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Wonderful alfredo recipe! I sauteed the garlic in the butter as it melted, then added the cream. I used shredded parm, and I agree with others -- there is a world of difference in flavor. The only alterations I made were just matters of personal preference. I added black pepper, a sprinkle of nutmeg and a TBSP or so of chopped green onions at the very end. I did end up having to thin the sauce a bit with some milk. (I probably cooked the cream too long, but that's easily corrected). Just an FYI -- this is enough sauce for about 1/2 to 2/3 lb. of pasta, depending on the pasta type and thickness of the sauce. I used linguine, and it was fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this a couple of days ago for my husband and brother - I've been looking for a good alfredo recipe for a while now. All I substituted was half Fontina/half Parmesan (and some extra cheese) for the pure Parmesan, and added some salt and pepper at the end. I also sauteed the garlic in the butter at the beginning rather than waiting until the cheese step, but it turned out amazing. A+, making for a second time tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
We loved it. Taste a lot like the oliver garden sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I like the flavor but found it heavy and thick despite using milk instead of cream; will try gruyere next time. Slow-cooked fresh tomatoes to add at the end (pushed through a sieve leaving skin and seeds behind) along with a dash of pinot noir for a delicious topping over fresh porcini tagliarini that I'd tossed with a small amount of virgin olive oil and a chiffonade of basil. My husband said, "Make sure you save that recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe is very easy and good. I used regular whole milk, grated Parmesan cheese, & blend of cheddar with mozzarella. It's just what I had on hand. It still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelindaLongoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States