Alfredo Mostaccioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chase Greene
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
My reason for not giving it a five is due to the fact that the recipe should tell the novice cook to let the sauce sit for a moment so that it will get a bit thicker. I put it in directly with the pasta(as listed in the directions), and for the first 5 mins had pasta soup. It eventually thickened up, and had great consistency. On the "taste" end of things, I thought the sauce was awesome. I'm being serious. Now, I'm a big fan of the Alfredo from Olive Garden, and anyone who eats there regularly will know what I'm talking about. I'll have to say, this version is second to Olive Garden's. I was more than pleasantly surprised. Anyone who loves some good ol' Alfredo, definately try this one out. Also, I added extra parmesan to the sauce. It was magnifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase Greene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wagram, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I have one major complaint: The recipe doesn't make enough sauce! Eight servings? No way. At least not with the size servings we have at my house. There were 2 1/2 servings at best. Next time I will triple or quadruple this. I reduced the salt by half and it was ever so slightly salt top-heavy, probably because the butter I used was salted. But that is a minor, easily corrected issue. And it's a common reason why recipes come out too salty. As another reviewer recommended, another reason that it might be too salty for some is if one uses the off the shelf parmesan cheese. Since it's such a major ingredient, spring for the fresh stuff. I used freshly grated asiago cheese, and it was spectacular. I thawed and microwaved a couple of chicken breast cutlets. Slicing the chicken in long pieces makes for a nice appearance if one places the cutlet on the pasta in it's original shape--not to mention a great recipe enhancer, making the pasta a full-on meal. Pasta, chicken, sauce, in that order. What a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
With this recipe the alfredo sauce is to die for, however the type of pasta that is mentioned in this recipe is not good. Mostaccioli is a heavy pasta that does not work well with the alfredo sauce. When I make this sauce I use Fettuccini. The Fettuccini makes this dish one of the bests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe is a KEEPER. A genuine GREAT "base" for dressing pasta dishes. I've been using it for years (just never knew -- or even thought about -- the proportions). Thank you. ******* Given this SAUCE tossed over pasta, you can decide about your accompaniments (chicken, beef, seafood, vegetables, etc.). Add whatever you like (cooked onions, peppers, peas, corn, carrots, zucchini; cooked beef, poultry, seafood or whatever) to your PASTA. If you feel like it, add (fresh is preferred, but dried is OK, too) Tarragon, Dill, Marjoram, Basil, Oregano, or Cilantro. Got a man (or older boy teen) in your home? Think about incorporating bacon and/or one or more "shakes" (approximately 1 T.) of Worcester Sauce and/or Hot Sauce and/or prepared Horseradish) into the SAUCE. Use ANY pasta of your choice. IMO, the "thicker ones" (e.g., rigatoni, rotini, gremeli, penne, etc.) are preferred (they're more prone to absorbing the SAUCE, as well as the flavor(s)). Use THIS SAUCE and your own preferred "accompaniments". It's unlikely you'll go wrong! ***** We use SALTED butter in my home. Therefore, I do not add salt during preparation of ANY dish I prepare (the shaker is on the table at all times, but no one seems to notice). At the same time, this recipe seems to "work better" when UNSALTED/SWEET butter is used. My advice: start with this SAUCE (it's really good) and "run with" the rest of your mral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Though this was pretty good the first time I made it we added chicken and I thought it was still a little salty. Also though I like parsley, we thought there was a little to much. Now when I make it, we cut back on the salt and parsley and use penne pasta. I also use chicken breast cut into chunks and sauteed in olive oil. If your looking for a little extra kick, cut up your chicken breast add to a ziplock back with cajun seasoning, shake till all chicken pieces are coated sautee till no longer pink and add to sauce so flavors blend. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
**Great with shrimp added too~**We loved this ! But I just had to say 'NO' to the heavy cream. I used my standard replacement~carnation fat free evap milk--12 oz can, 1/2 cup salted butter and 2 TBS low fat cream cheese. Real garlic, not powdered and NO SALT. sooooo good with chicken and grilled eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I was looking for a simple recipe and I finally found it. I modified it somewhat. Instead of boiling the pasta and making the sauce seperate, I used 2 cups of water and 1 cup of 2% milk, added the butter and parsley, left out the salt. I brought the mixture to a boil, then added 1/2 box of no.9 spegetti. I boiled that till the liquid was reduced by 1/2, took if off the heat, then added the parmesian cheese. I let it stand till all the liquid was absorbed by the pasta, we each added the salt to taste and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Ugh! Not sure what I did wrong but this was sooooooo salty. I used dried parsley but I halfed it. I tried to add more cream and milk, but it didn't help. I finally put potatoes in it to absorb some of the salt. I will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I think this is an excellent sauce, just as it is and the type of pasta you picked to go with it was a good choice as well. I usually add some vegetables to it-sometimes asparagus sometimes fried zuchinni but always top it off with spinach and chopped roma tomatoes (cooking everything but the tomatoes before adding them in of course). The vegetables complement this dish and make for a nice presentation. Thanks for the yumminess Kimber. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This was so easy to put together. I added 1 cup of Ricotta cheese to make the sauce thicker for pizza and also used fat free evaporated milk to cut the fat. My family raved and when our 4 year old actually eats something new, well we count it a keeper. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIZCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States