Alfredo Mostaccioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
good flavor, just way too salty! I guess my butter was salted (it was out of the package, so I couldn't tell), and I only added half the amount of salt. I added broccoli florettes to the last few minutes of the pasta while it was cooking and sauteed chicken breasts to the sauce. This sauce is thin as well, but I thickened it by adding a mix of heavy cream and cornstarch and adding it to the sauce. If I make this again, I will tweak it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I altered this a bit. I made 2 lbs of vermicelli noodles (family of 6) and tripled the sauce recipe. I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and I was a bit shy on the parmesan so I added finely shredded mozz cheese. I did not add any additional salt, since I was using salted butter. And I needed to add flour to thicken the sauce. However the end result was SO good. I added broccoli and mushrooms to the dish for a rounded meal. Next time I will include chicken or shrimp. Thanks for sharing - it's a great base to build from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Loved it! So easy to make and delicious. I will definitly be making this again. I didn't give this five stars because I think the sauce needs to be doubled. ..This is a keeper, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I've made this sauce a couple of times. The first time it came out great; the second time it wasn't the same- probably my error. My first try at alfredo sauce and it was yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Nation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love it! I add cooked chicken and mushrooms to mine when I make it,use a little less parsley, and use fettuccine instead. Everyone that I have made it for loves it, even my husband that's not big on alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbdahill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Quite good. I lightened it up a bit with fat free half-n-half and I only used a pinch or so of salt. I also used fresh garlic, instead of garlic powder. I just sauteed the garlic in with the butter just a bit before adding the other ingredients. I did add lightly steamed broccoli, just to cut a little corner at dinner time. Four servings? Psh. MAYBE four. We really liked this. REALLY liked it. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was soooo good and even better - EASY!! I wish alfredo sauce would reheat well!!! I did double the sauce which was the perfect amount for a 16 oz box of pasta and added 1/2 c extra of a 3 cheese blend (asiago, romano, parmesean) I will definitley be making this again, maybe next time I'll cut down the butter just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Ridge, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Fantastic sauce. Great for dipping too! I did omit the salt, and it still had plenty of taste. Will certainly prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
to die for! I did double the sauce( we are sauce people) The sauce is rich and flavorful! We moaned through every bite! Kid friendly. I never used fresh parsley before made it colorful. Made fantisque garlic bread from this site. great for mopping up the sauce!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Photo by Mrs.BumbleBee
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was wonderful. I changed it just a tad, I used 1 pint of whipping cream instead of a cup because that's how it is bought and I didn't want to waste it. I also didn't use fresh parsley but dried parsley, instead of a cup I used 1/4 cup. I sauteed shrimp on the side and placed them on top when served, it was great. Awesome Friday night meal during lent. :) I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States