Alfredo Mostaccioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was outstanding, after reading some reviews I doubled the sauce recipe and used a 1/4 of the salt required, the garlic powder and parmesan cheese provide enough of a salted taste that was perfect. Did let it stand for several mins so it was not runny. This was very, very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Use chopped fresh garlic instead of powder. Always tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We all loved this Alfredo. We did add grilled chicken to the plate. Next time I will double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
"IT!" Using a cup of heavy cream, 1/4c butter & 1/2c parmesan - Yum. Only thing was that I had to thicken it. I used 2T cornstarch & it did fine thickening it, but was less than smooth - slightly like melted cheese. Not stringy, but not creamy like it should be. Sooo, maybe a T is the right amount. Oh, & used with salted butter so didn't add any salt. Also didn't add garlic. That's for the garlic bread you serve with it! :) Time2: 1T flour did fine for thickening. Also, with the amounts I gave, this recipe makes a cup & a half (half pound of fettuccine's worth, maybe a little less). GOOD...1/13 Another update: First time I've added the sauce to the pasta. It thickened just a little too much so maybe 1/2T or even none (I know, I know, I read the reviews, too! :D It just doesn't look like it's thickening.) is required. Adding it to the pasta, it needed some salt, too. It is so rich that half pound serves 4-5. Can only eat half as much as a good portion of spaghetti. 'Thinking double sauce & a 12oz box pasta would be right. Update: Probably 1 1/2# for double recipe. Tried 1/8t salt w fett & it's too little; try 1/4t next. 1/2T flour is fine when putting sauce with fettuccine. Yum. Still more (sorry!) Final IT: 1# fettuccine,2c heavy cream,1c parmesan, 2Tflour (if having it on the side),1/4tsalt (if mixing with fettuccine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is one of the best pastas I have made in a long time.. And it is very simple! Next time I will be adding chicken to it!!!! Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
good flavor, just way too salty! I guess my butter was salted (it was out of the package, so I couldn't tell), and I only added half the amount of salt. I added broccoli florettes to the last few minutes of the pasta while it was cooking and sauteed chicken breasts to the sauce. This sauce is thin as well, but I thickened it by adding a mix of heavy cream and cornstarch and adding it to the sauce. If I make this again, I will tweak it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I altered this a bit. I made 2 lbs of vermicelli noodles (family of 6) and tripled the sauce recipe. I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and I was a bit shy on the parmesan so I added finely shredded mozz cheese. I did not add any additional salt, since I was using salted butter. And I needed to add flour to thicken the sauce. However the end result was SO good. I added broccoli and mushrooms to the dish for a rounded meal. Next time I will include chicken or shrimp. Thanks for sharing - it's a great base to build from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Loved it! So easy to make and delicious. I will definitly be making this again. I didn't give this five stars because I think the sauce needs to be doubled. ..This is a keeper, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I've made this sauce a couple of times. The first time it came out great; the second time it wasn't the same- probably my error. My first try at alfredo sauce and it was yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Nation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States