Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was really good. I served it over spinach fettucine and added some boneless chicken breasts on top that I oven fried. Very good and I didnt have any issues with my sauce thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
delicious!!! I just went to olive garden and ordered fettuccine alfredo, and oh my God this recipe closely resembles the taste of the alfredo sauce i had at that restaurant! I did what one of the previous reviewers suggested, and mixed a can of evaporated milk and half a cup of skim milk to make up for the two cups of milk in the recipe, and it turned out great!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I made this recipe last night and followed many of the suggestions listed and it came out fabulous. The changes I made were: more garlic, more parmesan cheese, more black pepper and I added a little crushed red pepper flakes. I was also able to make this a two pan meal. One pot for the pasta, and a large skillet for everything else. I completed step one, but added sausage, mushrooms, grape tomatoes and peas. In a small bowl, I mixed well the items in step 2 with a whisk and then slowly added it to the large skillet (on Medium heat). It did thicken up without problem after about 3-5 minutes of cooking. I then added the pasta, more black pepper and more parm. With warm bread and a salad...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
i was hesitant to try this after reading some reviews, but i made lots of changes, and it came out AMAZING- followed previous reviews and made a roux, still took a while to thicken (i ended up adding some extra flour to speed it up)- i added chunked chicken breast and it was delicious! could barely tell the difference from the full fat alfredo sauce! i will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was good but needs more spices. We added 3 cloves of garlic and it still did not give it enough flavour. The sauce was also slightly too thin. You can probably fix this problem by just adding slightly less liquid; maybe 1/4 cup milk. I will make this again but i will get creative with my spices and probably add fresh mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Tasty! I had to add more seasoning though. About a tsp of garlic and onion powder and some sage. Served over butternut ravoli. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe was amazing. A little tweaking of spices for my personal taste, but that was about it. I read that some people had issues with thickening the sauce. I made sure the flour was well whisked in, and then cooked over a medium temperature, basically simmered it for a minute or two, and it thickened right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Even after adding extra parm as suggested by other reviewers, it was still very bland. It also took forever to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was DELICIOUS!!!! I didn't add the brocoli(my kids and boyfriend doesn't like it) I did add chicken, and i doubled the recipe and used 2 cups of parmesean cheese. It was awesome!!!! And this was the first time I made homemade alfredo sauce, No more buying it in the stores for me......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow. I was looking for a quick recipe and feel like I hit the jackpot. Like others, I used 2% milk as I didn't have skim. I squeezed some more garlic into the milk/broth mixture and probably used twice the parm. Browned chicken with garlic, onion, parsley, rosemary and thyme. Added in some sun dried tomatoes. Removed the chicken from the skillet. Added the broth to the skillet to thicken, which it did quite nicely. Added the chicken back and used penne. Reminded us of a local restaurant favorite Penne Al Pollo. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States