Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
i was hesitant to try this after reading some reviews, but i made lots of changes, and it came out AMAZING- followed previous reviews and made a roux, still took a while to thicken (i ended up adding some extra flour to speed it up)- i added chunked chicken breast and it was delicious! could barely tell the difference from the full fat alfredo sauce! i will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was good but needs more spices. We added 3 cloves of garlic and it still did not give it enough flavour. The sauce was also slightly too thin. You can probably fix this problem by just adding slightly less liquid; maybe 1/4 cup milk. I will make this again but i will get creative with my spices and probably add fresh mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Tasty! I had to add more seasoning though. About a tsp of garlic and onion powder and some sage. Served over butternut ravoli. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe was amazing. A little tweaking of spices for my personal taste, but that was about it. I read that some people had issues with thickening the sauce. I made sure the flour was well whisked in, and then cooked over a medium temperature, basically simmered it for a minute or two, and it thickened right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Even after adding extra parm as suggested by other reviewers, it was still very bland. It also took forever to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was DELICIOUS!!!! I didn't add the brocoli(my kids and boyfriend doesn't like it) I did add chicken, and i doubled the recipe and used 2 cups of parmesean cheese. It was awesome!!!! And this was the first time I made homemade alfredo sauce, No more buying it in the stores for me......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow. I was looking for a quick recipe and feel like I hit the jackpot. Like others, I used 2% milk as I didn't have skim. I squeezed some more garlic into the milk/broth mixture and probably used twice the parm. Browned chicken with garlic, onion, parsley, rosemary and thyme. Added in some sun dried tomatoes. Removed the chicken from the skillet. Added the broth to the skillet to thicken, which it did quite nicely. Added the chicken back and used penne. Reminded us of a local restaurant favorite Penne Al Pollo. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I found that combining the first two steps in this recipe, so as to make a "rue-like" sauce, it cut down a lot on the thickening time, and well as lessened the chance for lumps in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I was really unimpressed with this dish and so was my husband. Obviously I wasn't expecting it to taste like regular alfredo but we didn't care for it! I tried adding things to give it more flavor such as pancetta & asparagus but nothing could save this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good, considering it is light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States