Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Used this for the sauce only, and added it to a baked pasta dish. I created a roux with the oil and the flour first and fried the onion in it, then added the remaining ingredients. I had to use a little more than 2tsp of oil though, so perhaps it wasn't the low fat alternative. We did it this was to get the onion to cook down a bit as my wife doesn't like the taste of onion. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik and Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've been looking for a healthier way to make a white sauce and this recipe was PERFECT!!! I love the idea of substituting chicken broth for butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Absolutely amazing! YUM Great taste without the guilt. I made this as suggested: without the onions, increase garlic cloves to 3 -4. Also, added chicken tenders while sautéing garlic in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltorneden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I use peas instead of broccoli. I also highly suggest adding some crumbled bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Good stuff....my favorite part was that I had everything on hand. Added Chicken and served with a green salad. Yummy. Did have to end up adding more flour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. After reading all the reviews about it not getting thick quickly, I decided to add one more tablespoon of flour and one tablespoon or cornstarch. I also added red pepper flakes and much more garlic. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Well I liked my version - lol! I added chicken which I browned first with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Made the sauce with fat free half and half, made a roux with som eoil and the flour in with my onion/garlic mixture before adding the liquids. I added the broccoli in with my pasts (penne) and also some sliced dry packed sun dried tomatoes. Nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. We also made it with peas instead of broccoli because that's all I had.. but I have been wanting to have Alfredo without using cream cheese.. etc. This was yummy. It did take forever to thicken.. shoulda read the reviews before I made it.. but I used some corn starch and a little extra flour and things worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for my girlfriend and I for each of us to take to work during the week. We both loved it, and it's a money saver too. I used 4 cloves of garlic rather than 1, as some people suggested, and also minced the onion and garlic in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I'm sorry, but I guess I'm in the minority on the reviews for this recipe! Our family thought it was pretty tasteless (the sauce). I found it difficult to thicken and had to add more flour than called for. We wanted more of a substantial meal so I added some pre-cooked (Perdue) chicken. No matter...nothing seemed to help this recipe! I know it's supposed to be light, but there has to be something more to this sauce! I will continue to look for a light(er) version of alfredo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States