Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipe was amazing - my boyfriend couldn't believe it was light! Instead of the parmesan, I used 4 wedges of Laughing Cow garlic and herb cheese, and it turned out wonderfully. Also, when the initial white sauce is cooking, it's best to bring the sauce to a simmer before you add it to the onion mixture - it thickens up much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I think this is a great alternative if you are looking to lighten up Alfredo and not have so much guilt after eating it. I made this tonight without onions because my 5 year old daughter was eating it. Other than that I was able to get my comfort food fix and not feel bad about it. Thanks for the great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I have been making alfredo like this for a couple years since I saw Rachel Ray do it. Its not quite as rich as traditional but its tasty and a great way to have something I like without all the fat and calories. Ive even started replacing some of the milk in my mac and cheese with broth and its so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
awesome, half the calories and still taste good. I added mushrooms and shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This turned out really good - I added peas and carrots, used 2% milk instead of skim, and added broiled chopped chicken breast - will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Minor changes: heated butter and sauteed onion and garlic. Whisked 3 tbsp melted butter with 3 tbsp flour in a saucepan. Once I had a roux, I added the milk, chicken broth, and salt/pepper. Along with the parmasan, I added a dash of powdered mustard, garlic powder and Italian spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Love this recipe. Makes a yummy Alfredo sauce that doesn't make you cringe thinking of the calories. To get the sauce to thicken, I saute my onions in butter and add the flour to first before adding the milk. Never had a problem getting the sauce to thicken when making it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I have never attempted alfredo sauce except with a seasoning packet before, and I was very happy with the results from this recipe! I enjoyed the fact that I could use milk and didn't have to use cream. I took other reviewers' advice and added more garlic. I didn't use any onion because I was out. And I did make a change in that I used a mixture of butter and oil in making the rheu(sp?), before adding the flour and then the turkey broth and milk. Cooking the broccoli with the Penne pasta was a great shortcut and worked out well. I added some cooked chicken to make it a meal and served it with a salad. Very satisfying! My children, from my 19 month old to my teenager loved it (as well as my hubby)! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is a good base but is better using extra virgin olive oil, fat free condensed milk, and organic orfree-range chicken broth. I use at least three times as much garlic and a little more cheese over the top. You really don't need more thickener if you use more cheese. If you simmer it, it thickens nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
As is, three stars but addition of garlic, extra salt, and more thickener will make it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States