Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
A very good, lighter alternative to the calorie-laden familiar dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The taste is FABULOUS, which (for us) made up for a lack of thickness in the sauce. Even so, the sauce was decently thick. I did make a few adjustments to the recipe based on other reviews that seemed to help... Added 1 TBS of cornstarch Mixed in grilled chicken Only added a tablespoon or so of onion Added salt to noodles, sauce Also, in the last few minutes before serving, I brought the sauce to a boil before adding the parmesan. Definitely worth making and enjoying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This was easy to prepare and "performed" well for company. Comforting and delicious. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Turned out pretty well! I skipped the onions, and cooked 3 garlic cloves with 5 large mushrooms in a bit of water and OXO. Took them out of the pan, then added the milk and flour to remaining liquid. I also added about a teaspoon of corn starch. Didn't take very long at all to thicken up - added the parm, mixed and added the mushrooms. My husband was thrilled, he didn't even know it was a light alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was SO good! I mainly made this for the sauce. I used rotini pasta and did zucchini for the broccoli. My sauce came out nice and thick, although I did use 1% milk. Delicious and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Enjoyed this very much. Made a few changes. Since I need Gluten Free I used brown rice flour. I used fresh broccoli, and quinoia fettuccine. I also added chicken leftovers. It was awesome, will definately make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the best low fat alfredo sauce I have yet to make. I should've read the reviews first though - mine did come out a little thin - i tried adding a bit more flour, but didn't want to ruin the great taste. Next time I will read the reviews first to learn how to thicken it - but wow - yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
JEUSHAGIRL's review from 2005 is spot on. I made the sauce as stated and it was pretty bland. I could actually taste the flour, and that on top of the pasta was a bit too much. I used asparagus for the vegetable - and a lot of it! - and added a pinch of red pepper flakes. This certainly wasn't horrible - for what it is (a healthy substitute for alfredo sauce) it's ok. But it needs something else, whether it's butter/butter substitute, more parmesan, more garlic, herbs or maybe even replacing a little of the broth with white wine. It strays a little from the classic alfredo sauce, but I think it would taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was looking for a healthier way to make one of my favorite dishes but this is just not good. I knew I would have to add seasonings to it but the sauce never thickened to my liking. Even though I did as others suggested. I did like the broccoli and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Allen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was awesome! I did omit the onions, used 1% milk and added more garlic, chicken, parsley, a little more cheese and a extra TBSP of flour. Nice to see a recipe without TONS of butter. Did not feel guilty after I was done eating. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States