Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a g-r-e-a-t alfredo recipe! It was light and not too heavy. I omitted the onions and used 2% milk which made it thick quickly...I just worked with the milk I had. I'm saving this one for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I Really enjoyed this recipe. However, I am rating it "as is". I findit misleading when people give recipes 5 stars but make 847574899 changes to it :) I added extra salt, substituted corn starch, omitted the onion and used a different amount of garlic. I also added broccoli and chicken. I highly recommend experimenting with this sauce. It is definitely worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This sauce was surprisingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Littlefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It didn't really have enough sauce and was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatlizzardsdaily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I added more garlic since I am a huge garlic lover. Made it exactly as the recipe stated. Sauce did take a while to thicken but worth it. I also added turkey bacon but next time I will add chicken. Very good light recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I felt the same way as far as the sauce taking too long to thicken, I added chicken to my recipe. And, my family needed to add a bit of salt to it also, just a bit to bland for them. I did like the lightness and included a bit of parsley and Italian seasoning also! I'll probably make it again, but thicken it differently and season it just a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family loved this! I wasn't actually looking for an Alfredo recipe when I found this one--I was trying to find a recipe that would use up the broccoli I had. I liked this though because it uses ingredients that I tend to have on hand. I wasn't necessarily going for low fat so I used butter in place of oil and 2% milk for added flavor. I blended the flour into the cooked onion/garlic to create a roux as others had suggested and it thickened up just fine. I also used fresh broccoli. My kids said they actually liked this Alfredo better than the one I make with heavy cream! The texture is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious! I didn't follow the recipe to a T-- Just tasted as I went and made adjustments as needed. Didn't have vegetable broth but didn't need it, as the milk was enough liquid and added basil + more garlic for flavor. After it started to thicken I turned off the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes, which helped thicken more. The man LOVED IT--gobbled it up! Perfect with spinach, broccoli and asparagus. Will add white beans next time to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent!!! I'm watching my weight for our upcoming wedding and am having a hard time finding meals to cook that are both low calorie and make my fiance happy. I made this last night with a few modifications and he had no idea that it was a healthier version of what I normally make. Based on some of the recommendations I used a can of 2% evaporated milk and 1/2 cup 1% milk. I also used Ronzoni Garden Delight rotini and a mixture of broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. To spice it up...I added crushed red peppers. I was happy because it was light on the calories and my guy was happy because he couldn't tell that it was a low cal meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I halved the recipe, added cooked chicken and made the whole thing gluten free by using Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour and Ancient Harvest Gluten Free Quinoa Spaghetti. Like others suggested doing, first I made a roux by melting 2 tablespoons of butter (use 4 tablespoons for the full recipe) and then stirring in the flour and allowing that to cook for several minutes before I added in the milk and broth, both in several separate amounts to allow the roux to thicken up and absorb the liquids. Stir constantly over medium heat and it thickens up very quickly each time after adding in the liquids. Then I added the cooked garlic/onion mixture and cheese to the roux and also then added in about a cup of cooked shredded chicken (I bought a fully cooked rotisserie chicken breast from the grocery store). Only after adding in the chicken to the sauce did I throw the pasta in the boiling water, so as to allow the chicken to absorb the flavors of the sauce for the full nine minutes of boiling the spaghetti. After draining the cooked pasta and broccoli, I put them back in the still warm pot and poured the chicken alfredo sauce over it all and tossed it all together. I also increased the salt and pepper from the recipe. Next time I will add some red pepper flakes to cook with the garlic to add a bit more flavor. Excellent dish that my family adored!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States