Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was a good base recipe. You can do so much with it. I added green, yellow and red peppers, chicken and used soy milk instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Pretty disappointing. I added extra Parmesan cheese, and still found it very bland. Maybe with extra garlic or something else added (roasted red peppers, etc.), it would be better. Like other reviewers, I added a little cornstarch when the sauce did not seem to be thickening. I understand it will not taste the same without the cream and butter of regular alfredo sauce, but they must be replaced with something else to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was a very good recipe , just what i was looking for. I added about a cup and a half of mushrooms to the sauce, it was delicious. I also grilled some chicken with a bit of rosemary and out it on top of the pasta , it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Yummy! I made this for dinner last night and we both enjoyed it. You must go into making this recipe understanding it won't taste just like alfredo made from cream and butter, but it's delicious nonetheless. I scaled the recipe to 4 (which is enough for 2 dinner sized portions), left out the onion and garlic since alfredo sauce is supposed to be very smooth but added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder as well as some dried parsley, and found it needed twice as much salt. I also used whole milk, since that's what we had. Unlike some other reviewers, I had absolutely no problem with it thickening. In fact, I only used 1 tablespoon of flour and it thickened up right away! Since I wasn't cooking any onion or garlic, I left out the oil (added 2 tablespoons of low fat margarine, but this was unnecessary) and instead of making a roux, I simply brought the broth and all the milk but half a cup to a boil, stirred the remaining milk and flour together in a cup, and stirred the mixture into the boiling liquid. This is a delicious sauce that I'll surely make often as it's cheap (provided you regularly keep parmesan on hand anyway), pretty healthy and can be made in the time it takes the water for the pasta to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I love this recipe and have used it often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Petrillo Montgomery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Normally I would say it's not worth the effort but since I can't really eat the creamy stuff in regular alfredo, I would make this again. I did put in lemon pepper as well as add extra parmesan cheese. It did take awhile to thicken up and I did put in an extra tablespoon of flour because I was worried it wouldn't thicken up. The sauce was pretty good but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Good but a little bland. I added some red pepper flakes at the end, 2 tablespoons of half and half and more garlic. might try adding some lemon juice next time. also added shrimp and it was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
We loved this recipe. I added a little extra garlic and some frozen spinach. I found it very easy to make. I highly reccommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
We loved this pasta dish! It is one of my favorites! I will add chicken next time (my husband doesn't think something is a meal unless there is a meat in it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Thought this was pretty good for a light recipe. I added peas and chicken instead of the broccoli. Kids liked it too. Will make again, but next time I'll figure out how to use less pots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States