Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I used fat free half-and-half instead of water, and it had plenty of flavor with the chicken broth. I didn't use any flour and used cornstarch instead. Great recipe and thickened up in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Did this with short notice, so I used onion and garlic powders and added a couple dashes of cayenne and a splash of white wine. It was absolutely delicious on cheese tortellini and shrimp. We found it to be very flavorful and will definitely use it again, we'll try scallops next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was a good base recipe. You can do so much with it. I added green, yellow and red peppers, chicken and used soy milk instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Pretty disappointing. I added extra Parmesan cheese, and still found it very bland. Maybe with extra garlic or something else added (roasted red peppers, etc.), it would be better. Like other reviewers, I added a little cornstarch when the sauce did not seem to be thickening. I understand it will not taste the same without the cream and butter of regular alfredo sauce, but they must be replaced with something else to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was a very good recipe , just what i was looking for. I added about a cup and a half of mushrooms to the sauce, it was delicious. I also grilled some chicken with a bit of rosemary and out it on top of the pasta , it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Yummy! I made this for dinner last night and we both enjoyed it. You must go into making this recipe understanding it won't taste just like alfredo made from cream and butter, but it's delicious nonetheless. I scaled the recipe to 4 (which is enough for 2 dinner sized portions), left out the onion and garlic since alfredo sauce is supposed to be very smooth but added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder as well as some dried parsley, and found it needed twice as much salt. I also used whole milk, since that's what we had. Unlike some other reviewers, I had absolutely no problem with it thickening. In fact, I only used 1 tablespoon of flour and it thickened up right away! Since I wasn't cooking any onion or garlic, I left out the oil (added 2 tablespoons of low fat margarine, but this was unnecessary) and instead of making a roux, I simply brought the broth and all the milk but half a cup to a boil, stirred the remaining milk and flour together in a cup, and stirred the mixture into the boiling liquid. This is a delicious sauce that I'll surely make often as it's cheap (provided you regularly keep parmesan on hand anyway), pretty healthy and can be made in the time it takes the water for the pasta to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I love this recipe and have used it often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Petrillo Montgomery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Normally I would say it's not worth the effort but since I can't really eat the creamy stuff in regular alfredo, I would make this again. I did put in lemon pepper as well as add extra parmesan cheese. It did take awhile to thicken up and I did put in an extra tablespoon of flour because I was worried it wouldn't thicken up. The sauce was pretty good but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Good but a little bland. I added some red pepper flakes at the end, 2 tablespoons of half and half and more garlic. might try adding some lemon juice next time. also added shrimp and it was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
We loved this recipe. I added a little extra garlic and some frozen spinach. I found it very easy to make. I highly reccommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States