Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I found that combining the first two steps in this recipe, so as to make a "rue-like" sauce, it cut down a lot on the thickening time, and well as lessened the chance for lumps in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I was really unimpressed with this dish and so was my husband. Obviously I wasn't expecting it to taste like regular alfredo but we didn't care for it! I tried adding things to give it more flavor such as pancetta & asparagus but nothing could save this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good, considering it is light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This wasn't what I expected. I found it to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was good but I had to do things a bit differently. I attempted to make the sauce twice. The first time the sauce never thickened. It was seriously taking way toooooooo long. The second time I just added the flour and some of the broth to the onion mixture to make it thicken. Then I added the rest of the broth and slowly added in the milk allowing it to thicken even more, then adding the rest of the milk. The only thing I did not like about this recipe was the texture. While my husband loved the parmasean cheese texture, I found it to be a bit overwhelming and almost unappetizing. I think next time I will not put as much cheese in the sauce. I needed to add a lot of pepper and salt, a lot more than the recipe called for to give this dish some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I used the sauce portion of this recipe to build a chicken alfredo pizza. I used fat free half & half instead of skim milk, fresh sliced mushrooms, green peppers and purple onions. Turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Hmm... well, this was good but not what I expected. Perhaps I did something wrong. My sauce as WAY too watery and it ended up being more like a noodle soup. Also, the flavor was a little bland. But, I paired it with garlic bread and despite everything it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I thought this was very good--much better than my own fat-filled original. My 4 year old asked for more. I did some tweaking for personal taste. I added chicken tenders and mushroom to the saute and left out the broccoli (didn't have). I did have to add some corn starch to the sauce just for personal appearance. Smelled so good while cooking that hubby had to come in the kitchen to see what was going on. Only difference I would make next time would be to cut down on the onions a little and add more garlic. This one is definitely a keeper. BTW, hubby even bragged to HIS mom about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I used fat free half-and-half instead of water, and it had plenty of flavor with the chicken broth. I didn't use any flour and used cornstarch instead. Great recipe and thickened up in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Did this with short notice, so I used onion and garlic powders and added a couple dashes of cayenne and a splash of white wine. It was absolutely delicious on cheese tortellini and shrimp. We found it to be very flavorful and will definitely use it again, we'll try scallops next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States