Alfredo Blue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Awesome! This turned out to be the best ever pasta dish I've made. It was fantastic. A perfect balance of flavors. I made this for my husband for our anniversary, and it was a hit! I did take the advice from some of the other helpful reviewers (thanks, guys!), and added a few changes of my own. I did add crabmeat (NOT the imitation stuff, but the real lump crabmeat in a can at the refrigerated seafood counter), and I sauteed it in butter and lemon juice. I used Land O'Lakes Fat Free half and half, and instead of 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning, I added a packet of dry Italian dressing mix, and I doubled the amount of sauteed garlic and didn't remove the pieces from the olive oil. Instead of salt and pepper, I used garlic salt and lemon pepper. I served it over warm fettuccini, then added more bleu cheese crumbles and lemon pepper to the top. Outstanding! I served it with a baguette, and it was a very filling and scrumptious meal. Thanks for this recipe! It will definitely be a hit at our family's special events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very good recipe. Here are the alterations that I've made. I used 1 tbsp butter, 3 cloves garlic that I left in, 1 tbsp fresh parsley instead of Italian seasoning, 1/4 c white wine and while the sauce was simmering, I added 1 tsp of flour to thicken it juast a bit. I served it on top of the pasta with additional parmesan cheese. Next time I will add some fresh mushrooms. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Great recipe - I have made it a couple times and noticed different results in 'zing'; check which blue cheese you use - if you are using a creamy blue the sauce is relatively bland. Also, I found broccoli to be delicious in this sauce (cut into very small trees)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Throw some canned crab meat (lump) in this and you have a truly awesome dish that will impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Wow! What a yummy recipe. I made this for my bf and a good friend (who specifically requested alfredo) and they loved it! The garlic oil really adds a lot of flavor, and I belive, makes the dish. I suppose you could use gorgonzola in place of bleu cheese if you prefer a milder flavor (gorgonzola is milder than bleu).... This tastes just like Stouffer's fettuccini alfredo! I think next time, I'll experiment by using green fettuccini!Serve with an Olive Garden salad (I made my own version) and garlic breadsticks (be sure to dip them in the sauce - yum!). This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I LOVE bleu cheese, so I'd add more next time. We also fried up some chicken and added that on top. I would definitely recommend this. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I thought this was a fantastic recipe. Its the first fettucini I've ever made, and it turned out great. I did make a few changes as I went along, though, including sizing it down to 2 servings. I left the garlic in, since I love garlic, and instead of Italian seasoning I used about a half dozen fresh basil leaves, chopped. I used half and half instead of cream, and it worked fine, might even have been better. And last! After I tossed the sauce and pasta together, I cut up a ripe tomato and a couple green onions and stirred them in. Really a wonderful dish, and one I'd serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
If you have read any of my previous reviews, you have learned by now that we are HUGE blue cheese lovers. So it should be no surprise that I gave it 5 stars. I'm going to cut back on the Italian seasonings next time. It was just a tad too much for our taste. And I tend to agree with the other reviewers that adding cooked chicken, ham, or veggies to this would be delicious too. Not for those watching their calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wonderfully delicious and creamy. I kept the garlic in and used half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
So good. My daughter does not like blue cheese at all and was very reluctant to try this but she ended up going back for seconds. I added broccoli and sauteed mushrooms which were a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boss3021979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States