Alfredo Blue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I thought this was a fantastic recipe. Its the first fettucini I've ever made, and it turned out great. I did make a few changes as I went along, though, including sizing it down to 2 servings. I left the garlic in, since I love garlic, and instead of Italian seasoning I used about a half dozen fresh basil leaves, chopped. I used half and half instead of cream, and it worked fine, might even have been better. And last! After I tossed the sauce and pasta together, I cut up a ripe tomato and a couple green onions and stirred them in. Really a wonderful dish, and one I'd serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I was looking for a pasta side dish, and decided to try this one. My husband loves blue cheese,and it sounded interesting. I used half the amount of pasta (that's what I had on hand) and it was Penne. I also used half the amount of italian seasoning, as another person suggested. I didn't have half and half, so I used 1 1/2 cups of 1% milk. It was good, but very strong! My 3 year old liked it - much to my surprise. I also left the garlic in the oil - we are big garlic fans as well. I would like to try gorgonzola or feta next time. All in all, it was a very easy and good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Good recipe! A must for die-hard bleu cheese fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
just ok - too much italian seasoning. husband and I ate it fine for dinner but I won't make it again, felt like something was missing and didn't notice the garlic flavor in the oil at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This recipe goes great with steaks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Super rich and fabulous! I don't like blue cheese, but I love the mild flavor in this dish. It really enhances the pasta! I'd rather make this than regular alfredo. It's really good with chicken added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This sauce was very good the only thing I changed was I put gorgonzola cheese instead of blue cheese next time I almost might put a little less italian seasoning and more parmesan we served it over pasta mixed with spinach and mushrooms and topped with steak fillets it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is my favorite alfredo recipe on this site, although it is not exaclty perfect. As is it is much too thin, I always double the blue cheese and triple the parmesan to thicken it up. Even then it still requires some more thickening with flour, but the blue cheese definitely adds a nice flavor to it. After that, it is really delicious served over pasta with shrimp. Don't forget to add a clove or two extra of fresh minced garlic! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. I am not a big alfredo fan, but this was not bad. The bleu cheese was not overpowering, it was just enough. I only used a 12 oz. box of fettucine noodles and I felt it was a little on the dry side. If I used a 16 oz. box as recommended in the recipe, it would have been very dry. I did add some grilled chicken breasts to this. Overall, it was ok. My husband loved it, said it tasted like something from Olive Garden. Although, I'm not sure I'd make it again unless he specifically asks for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
My hubby and I did not like this at all! We didn't even finish our meal. I admit, I am not a huge fan of blue cheese, but my hubby is, so I don't think that is what it was. It was definitely bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States