Alfredo Blue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Needed a quick meal and this fit the bill as I had some leftover Blue Cheese Butter from the other night. Added heavy cream and it became the perfect Alfredo blue. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was not very good at all. I'm a big blue cheese fan, so I was expecting great things. I made it twice, following the directions exactly the first time. It was extremely runny, wouldnt thicken up regardless of how long I let it set, and it basically tasted like melted blue cheese with too much italian seasoning mixed in. The second time I used less cream, switched to gorgonzola cheese, used half the italian seasoning and added some oregano and 2 more cloves of garlic. It was a little better, but definitely not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I love this recipe! I added some artichoke hearts, mushrooms, and shrimp. I was to die for! Instead of the italian seasoning, I added parsley instead. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This recipe was given to me by a friend who found it here. I don't like bleu cheese so knew I'd be altering the recipe right off. The recipe as written is probably very good, but I wanted to personalize it. I drained the cooked pasta to barely al dente. Then reserved about 3/4 cup of the starchy water to mix into a cheese base of aged romano, sharp white cheddar, cream cheese, and milk. I simmered these for a while and added about 1-1/2 tsps of corn starch. I went really decadent and added lobster (about 2 lbs)that I first quickly sauted in butter and white wine and white pepper to the finished result. I then put it all into a baking dish and added buttered Rits cracker meal to the top. Served it with asparagus on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I am sorry - This was terrible in my opinion. My whole family did not finish it = and I ended up apologizing and we made sandwiched instead and threw the whole thing out. Not for me! Sorry - maybe it is an aquired taste. I am also a blue cheese lover - so who knows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I wanted to like this but thought it was really bland. Oddly enough, I could barely taste the blue cheese. I used only half the italian seasoning and it was still overpowering. Also, even after the leftovers were refrigerated, the sauce stayed liquid - it never thickened to a sauce consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I made this for 8 (including myself) college students and it went off great. Not a lot of people enjoy Alfredo sauce, but this was just amazing. For us college students, we ran out of pasta before we ran out of sauce. I scaled this for 10 people and we still ran short. If you're going to make this for a group of hungry people (as you should always cook for), make more pasta than you think you'll need. There will always be that one person who will eat 2-3 times the regular serving of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Wow! What a yummy recipe. I made this for my bf and a good friend (who specifically requested alfredo) and they loved it! The garlic oil really adds a lot of flavor, and I belive, makes the dish. I suppose you could use gorgonzola in place of bleu cheese if you prefer a milder flavor (gorgonzola is milder than bleu).... This tastes just like Stouffer's fettuccini alfredo! I think next time, I'll experiment by using green fettuccini!Serve with an Olive Garden salad (I made my own version) and garlic breadsticks (be sure to dip them in the sauce - yum!). This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I thought this was a fantastic recipe. Its the first fettucini I've ever made, and it turned out great. I did make a few changes as I went along, though, including sizing it down to 2 servings. I left the garlic in, since I love garlic, and instead of Italian seasoning I used about a half dozen fresh basil leaves, chopped. I used half and half instead of cream, and it worked fine, might even have been better. And last! After I tossed the sauce and pasta together, I cut up a ripe tomato and a couple green onions and stirred them in. Really a wonderful dish, and one I'd serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I was looking for a pasta side dish, and decided to try this one. My husband loves blue cheese,and it sounded interesting. I used half the amount of pasta (that's what I had on hand) and it was Penne. I also used half the amount of italian seasoning, as another person suggested. I didn't have half and half, so I used 1 1/2 cups of 1% milk. It was good, but very strong! My 3 year old liked it - much to my surprise. I also left the garlic in the oil - we are big garlic fans as well. I would like to try gorgonzola or feta next time. All in all, it was a very easy and good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States