Alfajores Argentinean Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this recipe is good the only thing is to make it easier ,my recipe is almost the same just the vanilla rum is not need instead 1/2 teaspoon vanilla rum and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla ,just 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and the lemon extract and zest no , just 1 lemon medium size only the skin grated is perfect for the amount in this recipe . Now for those people that are saying that is to crumbly it suppose to be like that just treat the dough gently and the dulce the leche is suppose to be at room temperature and again use soft touch not rough to put the dulce the leche on the cookies I know when my husband makes they break but he says ,when you do it they don't break ,then I say is because I do it with care softly that's all , by the way the 3 yolks eggs is perfect I always make them like that I am Argentinian and everybody love my alfajores they say they are the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Did not like these at all. Something about the texture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My daughter and I made these for a Spanish project she had to do for Argentina. They turned out great and melted in your mouth! We used 3 whole eggs, instead of just the yolks, and the dough was easy to work with and we had no problems with it being crumbly or sandy. Instead of rolling them in coconut, we covered with powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was very tasty, but I dont know if its worth the effort. I added an extra egg yolk as suggested by other reviewers and it was still quite crumbly. Because it was so crumbly, and because the Dulce de leche was so sticky, it was a bit difficult to put together. It was also difficult to roll because of the crumblyness. In all, 5 stars for taste, but I probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this with a friend for a Spanish class project. They were really yummy! We added a fourth egg and the dough was fairly easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Hi Chris, I actually had a question about this recipe - is it really 2 1/2 CUPS of cornstarch? Or is that supposed to be teaspoons? Just checking as I really want to make these cookies! Thanks. Val
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I too had trouble with the dough being sandy. I managed to get them pressed together with much difficulty. I decided to just bake 6 and see how it went. When I baked, cooled and tried to ice those 6 with the dulce de leche, they crumbled. I added one extra egg yolk and a litte water to the remaining dough. With those additions, the dough worked fine. They tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gumby
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good recipe, loved them, just like I used to get in Argentinean bakery. I had the same problem as a previous reviewer that they would crumble like sand when I would try to get them on the cookie sheet to bake. I added 1/4 cup butter and 2 more egg yokes and it was perfect (I used Large eggs, maybe with Jumbo, the 3 the recipe would have called for would be fine). I also followed other reviewers suggestions instead of using all lemon I did 1/2 of the lemon extract and zest and then the other 1/2 orange extract and zest. I had no vanilla rum, so I just mixed 1/2 rum and 1/2 vanilla. I used sweetened coconut, I think it tastes better. When I take something to parties, I like taking something different, usually something that I grew up eating, this time it was the alfajores and they were a hit! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I am Bolivian so we make our own version of alfafores. I followed this recipe exactly except for the rum. Made it for a preschool/culture day. The kids gobbled it. My family loved it. Doubled the recipe. Only lasted a day. Only downside is that they took forever (a couple hours)! Will try rolling/cutting on parchment paper next time and cooking it right on there so I don't have to transfer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These cookies were amazing. I used 1 egg and 2 yolks, white rum and I needed just 1/2 can dulce de leche for my cookies. The taste was fantastic, they look festive too (I sprinkled with confectioners` sugar) and I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States