Alder Wood-Smoked Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Wow for the recipe to get me going on using different spices with squash. I did substitute Liquid Smoke rather than smoke on grill and used peanut squash instead. I left out the butter completely. Flavor is fantastic. Way better than I anticipated. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made it today. As I harvested it from my garden fresh Acorn. I backed it in a 375 degree oven in shallow baking dish, with water in it. Wrapped it in alumni foil. Mean time,chopped onion, garlic, carrotts, oil in a pan, chopped up five stripes of bacon. Heated the oil, added the onion the garlic, on low flame. Stirring constantly. In mean time I heated 2 cups of chicken bullion. I left chunky zuchini,s, carrots in my soup it is tasting soo good. And I added half and half and more curry to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was really good! I only used one squash, but didn't scrimp on the bacon, using 4 slices (Applewood Smoked) I also added some onion powder, and was also generous with the fresh parsley. I'll bet the bowl I have left over is even better tomorrow. If I make it again, I'll add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
WOW !!! This was fantastic. I am a member of a local club and in the fall we have "Soup Saturdays" so I made a large pot. The flavor was awesome. I highly recomend the garnish as it gives a subtle enhancement to the soup. The alder wood is perfect. My wife and I found ourselves nibbling on the squash right from the smoker. A definate repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I sauteed onion and garlic with a bit of the bacon fat and omitted the butter, the squash to be rich enough. After soup was done, I was under impressed. So, I chopped and sauteed two jalapenos and two poblanos to add; tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delicious! I didnt make it exactly as the recipe called for but it turned out amazing anyway- I didnt smoke the squash-I baked it in the oven until it was soft and scooped it out after. I used turkey bacon instead (it has a smokey flavour too it) cut the butter and sour cream in half too. I wish I had doubled the recipe as it did not last long!! I topped it off with a few toasted pumpkin seeds and yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is a great addition to Thanksgiving. If you have a smoker the acorn squash can be cooked for a few hours at the same time as the turkey, which gives it exceptional flavor. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This soup was amazing. Everyone in the house had second and thirds. I wouldn't tell my son what was in it until his third bowl. He doesn't do veggies. I shortened this process considerabley by cooking in the microwave for 3-4 minutes. Then split them and backed on cedar planks in the oven until soft. (soaked cedar planks) I also add 1 tsp. of liquid smoke to off set the non grilling. Make a double batch it goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States