Alder Plank Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Excellent Dish. I used Cedar Planks but Alder Wood Chips for the smoke. No reason other than that I didn't have alder planks. Either way it was amazing. A few pieces I spread more of the brown sugar than others. I personally loved the sweet flavor better, but my wife liked the less sweet side better, so either way you are probably safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Thanks for sharing! We are definitely adding this to our favorite quick and easy fish recipes...Who doesn't love wood-smoked Salmon? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was my first attempt at smoking salmon and it turned out great. I used an Orion Cooker so it took a little improvising I thought I would share. I used about half as much charcoal as usual. After starting the charcoal I waited till the apple wood and alder wood chips started to smoke before putting the alder planks and the salmon on the top two grlls. I had to saw the planks in a circular shape to fit the grill and used the scraps from that along with apple wood for the smoking. I smoked it for 30 minutes and took the lid off to prevent over heating and put the lid back after about 5 minutes and smoked another 30 minutes. Then I took the lid off and basted with the brown sugar mixture and smoked for another 30 minutes. I smoke two 3 pound filets from the grocery store. Where I live fresh caught wild is not an option. I wish it was. But it was great anyway. BoRoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was excellent. I brined a side of salmon for about 14 hours. Used the same salt/water ratio as suggested. I did add 1/8 c of soy, some chachere's seasoning, dill weed and pepper to the mix though and a little lemon juice. I couldnt find Alder wood so I used a Cedar Plank instead. Smoked it for about 3 hours. It weighed around 1.5 lbs. It was GREAT! That is a perfect piece of fish! My wife HATES salmon and even she liked it. My whole family really liked this recipe. Thanks Ron. This is the best! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is the best I've tasted in years. Seriously thanks, Jimmy4216.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Littlerock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Best Salmon I've ever had. Before today I would say that I didn't like salmon. Today was the turning point. I like salmon, it tastes wonderful...if done right. This recipes doesn't need modification, but I did do a few things different. I think the impact was minimal: Used the basic brine in the footnote, with a little modification: Water, soy sauce, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, brown sugar (extra), normal iodized salt. At the end I added orange juice and lemon pepper. Soaked fish overnight and followed the recipe. Used double barrel charcoal pit with charcoal and wood chunks in small barrel and fish in big barrel. Replenished charcoal and wood when it got low. ~3 hours cooked, you could probably give or take an hour with no harm if smoking and not broiling. It was wonderful. Next time I'd like to try something exotic. I'd like to use more juices in my brine and layer the fish with fruit. Mandarine oranges, pineapple.... I think that might be really good. Then again, it came out great and I'd hate to mess up a wonderful recipe. This recipe is a keeper and will be used very very often in this house. You can't beat the health benefits of salmon with this wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEISLORD5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Yeah I smoke salmon!!! Ha ha ha ha!!! No sorry for this but this recipe was GREAT YEAH I SAID GREAT, VERY GREAT!!! MATT DAMON (FROM DURKADURKASTAN!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is an awesome way to make salmon! Be sure to make the brine. I soaked my plank in water with lemon, orange and tangerines and it was the best! The butcher told me to also soak in onion and garlic for another flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
We really enjoyed this. I used a little less water and replaced it with brandy and also added a little garlic powder to the brown sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
This was the best fish recipe i have ever tasted. The plank gave the fish so much flavor. I cooked mine a little longer, until it was mostly white...The whole family loved this recpe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States