Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FunkyGourmet
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My son said "it was in your face good!" Instead of bread crumbs i used crumbled Tostitos artisan chips and sprinkled Tony Chacheres creole seasoning's on the meatball mixtures. And I added a can of rotelle original. Ohmy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunkyGourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was so good. Injustice added some zucchini and elbow macaroni to make it more thick for the family. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asia S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was a good Mexican flavored soup. I added some fresh cilantro, garlic powder and salt to the meatball mixture and used reduced sodium beef broth instead of the water and bouillon. Chi Chi's chunky salsa worked good for us. Next time I will add corn for more dimension. I wasn't sure only 1 quart of liquid would be enough but once I added the salsa it just covered the veggies and meatballs and turned out to be the perfect amount of liquid. I didn't cook the veggies before adding the meatballs b/c I thought they would turn to mush. Formed the meatballs, then cut up all the veggies and brought them to a boil and added the meatballs right away. Turned out perfect this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Good, but not sure I'd make it again. Husband gave it 3.5 stars. Used broth instead of bouillon. Served with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newideas66
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was my 1st attempt at making this recipe and I was surprised it was pretty easy and fast! It is a regular dish my husband orders when we go out to a Mexican restaurant. Now it will be a regular in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newideas66
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is similar to how my Mother in Law would cook it. She added cumin to her receipe. She would also make the mexican rice and add it to the finished soup with cooked torillas on the side. I always tore the tortillas and added it to the water for the soupsoup. I use beef bullion cubes or beef broth added the water for the soup. Also I dropped the meat balls in the boiling water and let it cook then add the potatoes, carrots. a few cabbage leaves, zucchini and onions. I use cut up tomatoes. Add salsa to the soup in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
It was very tasty. I would not recommend making it with ground turkey. Although it was delicious, it was very difficult to form the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was the most effortlessy delicious soup I have ever made. I used low sodium beef broth with some concentrated beef base. I added chickpeas as well. You can not go wrong and as always season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made this but added spices! It really needed some ooomf - added hot paprika, S&P, garlic powder, extra onions, sriracha (we like it spicy) and Lawry's seasoning salt. Very good - we all enjoyed it. I like the rice instead of bread crumb idea I read in one review. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Deliciously fresh-tasting, terrific vegetables, and very good meatballs. Awesome broth too. Here are a few tiny changes I made, only to use what I had on hand: mild salsa, 20 oz canned beef broth plus 12 oz water and 1 bouillon cube, plain breadcrumbs with a few shakes of dried basil and garlic powder. I used ground chuck too. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. For their simplicity, the meatballs were fantastic! I made the soup yesterday and put it in the fridge. Tonight before reheating, I skimmed off the very smallest amount of solidified fat before reheating. My skinny husband NEVER takes a second serving of ANYTHING, but you guessed it! He took a second bowl. It's that good. Some of the other reviews have some good suggestions for variations...but I don't think I'll change this! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States